Beer Can Island

in #travel7 years ago

I just happened to be in Florida last week around the Tampa Bay area. And a few friends were out with there boats and invited me to come along. They were talking about going to this beach called Beer Can Island. Me thinking what does island look like and why would they call it Beer Can? 

Beer Can Island is a place where there are lots of partyers go that allows alcohol on the beaches.

So I went, of course cause I'm always down for a party. 

We get there and the Beach looked like a disaster hit it. With tree's that have fallen down and debre from other plant life that looked dead.

But the water was nice and warm from the Gulf of Mexico, Which is where I was most of the time.

Later that night I was to trashed to remember to much but the name of the place. So this morning while hanging around the house I decided to look it up on the internet and check out some of the things that happen at the Island.

Its the north tip of Longboat Island.

In Florida just outside of Sarasota.

http://www.floridabywater.com/central-west-florida/tampa/day-trips/565-pine-key-aka-beer-can-island

https://www.yelp.com/biz_photos/beer-can-island-longboat-key

It's a spot worth checking out if you like to drink on the beach and in the warm water.