Castles, Vineyards, Romance

in #travel6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

Let me share with you some of my travel memories. This summer I went to Switzerland for a few days with my boyfriend. We stayed at the Geneva Lake, to be more exact.

DSC_6202.jpg

This is me sitting on the shore in one of these chairs that they put into the rocks. The chairs are so awesome and ridiculous at the same time to me because I had never seen something like that before. Also, thank you @ibro for taking this awesome picture of me :D

This country swept me off my feet in so many ways. The beauty of nature, the relaxed atmosphere with people hanging out and laughing. Everyone had their little barbecue, and children were playing around in the local fountains. The lake was so big that I had a feeling like I was at the seaside.

DSC_2643.JPG

The area we were in is known for its vineyards and wine, and these vineyard terraces are actually a part of the UNESCO World Heritage and they have been here since the 11th century. The view from here was amazing, as you can hopefully see in the picture. I couldn't help it, so I tried just a grain of the grape, and it was honestly the sweetest grape I have ever tried.

DSC_2634.JPG

You guys, the thing about me is that I LOVE castles. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I'm still a huge fan of Disney hehe (and probably will be forever and ever). But I also like the feeling of stepping into a whole new world that I get when I come into direct contact with the past and all the people who lived here before us. So, when we found out that there is a huge castle nearby at the very lake, we naturally had to go and see it. I present to you the Chateau de Chillon (sorry for the low quality of the image, I still had my old Sony back then).

DSC_2660.JPG

Fun fact: the castle was used as an inspiration for the castle in The Little Mermaid (did I mention I was a fan of Disney?)

I was so happy inside! We also got to see a Swiss army plane (a MIG or sth like that) having a drill really close to the castle. It was really fun watching it spin and turn, but it was really, really loud. And then, suddenly, the weather got worse. Much worse. The rain came pouring down hard, and it even turned into hail. Just compare the weather in the previous and the next image.

DSC_2681.JPG

I ended up buying a lousy umbrella in the castle's souvenir shop for 20 francs. And that's A LOT for an umbrella. I thought to myself, well at least it's Swiss quality. The hell it is. It got broken with the first wind. I rarely regret my shopping decisions, but, oh boy, did I regret this one. You see, Switzerland is quite expensive, and I was on a tight budget. I could've spent that money in a much better way.

Nevertheles, I loved being there. It so happened, that my boyfriend and I had our very first anniversary while we were there. We celebrated it modestly, with a little bit of Swiss wine, a swim in the lake, a long talk by the lake's shore and with one of the most beautiful sunsets in my life. What more could a girl want?

IMG_20170817_211359_890.jpg

The next day he realized that he had set a really high bar for himself: "How am I ever going to top this?"

Well, I'm sure you'll think of something ;)

Sort:  

What a fun holiday

Yes, it was :)

Where are you from pretty lady?