Turn Your TV Off And Go!!!

in #travel7 years ago

tv_update.jpg

Hey folks, I love the Travel Channel as much as anybody. My wife and I will turn on a Travel Channel show on here or there. It's fun to live vicariously through these shows. But do you ever watch these shows and think, "These shows are great because I'll never get to go to any of these places?" I know I've thought that. Especially having a family, it is even easier to say that there is no possible way.

I can now say that, after getting into travel rewards, I have more hope for traveling to far-off destinations. I watch these shows for ideas rather than merely for entertainment. Maybe you a very frugal person, and you can sock away thousands of dollars for a far-off family destination. If you are anything like me and you do save a good amount of money for a vacation, you might start thinking of "better" ways that money could be spent. Then you might start feeling guilty for taking that vacation. I only say this because this is how I work.

The fun aspect of these travel rewards is that, typically, they can't be used for anything other than travel. As I mentioned in an earlier post, this "hobby" can be a lot of work. So when the time comes to take that vacation, it feels good! It feels good to have put in the work to be able take your family on a vacation for a fraction of the cost.

For me, personally, I always wanted to work for an airline to get travel benefits, but that never came to fruition. I love my current job, but I have never received the free travel perk. This new endeavor of taking advantage of travel rewards has opened up so many possibilities.

Whether you get into travel rewards or not, I encourage you to get out there. There is so much of the world to see and so little time.

One of my favorite exchanges is from the movie The Truman Show when Truman (Jim Carrey) wants to leave and his TV wife ( Laura Linney) is trying to stop him:

Truman: "What about Atlantic City?"
Meryl: "Oh, no. You hate to gamble."
Truman: "That's right, I do - don't I?"
Meryl: "So why would you want to go there?"
Truman: "Because I never have! That's why people go places, isn't it?"

Yes Truman, it is. Our goal as a family is stop living vicariously through people on TV and get out there!

Thanks for reading :)