A Small Farmers Village Transformed to Streetart Heaven: Penelles | Spain

in #travel2 months ago

Last week, I visited one of the most colourful places in Spain: Penelles, a village that recently transformed its appearance through dozens of murals spread around the streets. Penelles is a very small farmers village but it gained a lot of popularity since its transformation.


Penelles, A Small Farmers Village Transformed to a Streetart Heaven


IMG_20240306_004326.jpg

IMG_20240306_004406.jpg

IMG_20240306_004449.jpg

The transformation of the village started less than 10 years ago, in 2016. Due to rural to urban migration, the village of penelles got emptier and emptier and the Mayor saw a solution: a mural and wall art festival. The festival is named the Gargar festival.

They say that the festival and art pays off and the village gained plenty of popularity. However, I was the only tourist in the village that day and it was very quiet. Since it was late February which means it is the off season for tourists and it might be totally different starting in May, when the next Gargar festival is held. The festival must be wonderful to attend and see the magic happen.

DSC08576-01.jpeg

DSC08575-01.jpeg


I feel so very much impressed when I look at this giant painting. This buildings are definitely not small. I can feel how much work and passion has been put in this colorful art. I just love it. A lot! I think it would be very much worth it to visit the festival in May and see the artists working.

As I mentioned earlier, the village is very small and very easy to walk around. Make sure you cover every street because literally every corner will surprise you with colors and art. I believe I have never looked around so well while exploring a city, on the hunt for art. After turning around in the street so you have set your eyes on other angles, you will discover plenty of new art. I walked 2 rounds through the village and I still have the feeling there is so much more to discover. I just loved it!

DSC08550-01.jpeg
This one is one of my favourites, it tells a story, assuming that we all know the story right?

DSC08582-01.jpeg

This one with the sheeps is also one of my favorits. The village is a farmer village and those sheeps fit the authentic identity of the village although things have changed a bit since the ''Streetart Times''

DSC08559-01.jpeg

DSC08562-01.jpeg

In general, I like the very bright shouting colors the most. I believe they add so much to the cityscape and they make me happy. who doesn't love colors!

DSC08548-01.jpeg


I felt like I had to also include pictures of the village itself. I felt like this was a beautiful shot!

DSC08585-01.jpeg


And a picture of this pretty church can also not be missed! The church is the center of the village. The walls of the church are left ''unharmed'', but the surrounding buildings are brightly colored with murals

DSC08557-01.jpeg

DSC08589-01.jpeg

DSC08565-01.jpeg

DSC08567-01.jpeg


Penelles, the letters are as colorful as the village

DSC08573-01.jpeg

DSC08561-01.jpeg

DSC08569-01.jpeg

DSC08568-01.jpeg

DSC08578-01.jpeg

DSC08577-01.jpeg

DSC08587-01.jpeg

DSC08588-01.jpeg

DSC08584-01.jpeg

DSC08579-01.jpeg

DSC08590-01.jpeg

DSC08553-01.jpeg

DSC08564-01.jpeg


IMG20240228161007-01.jpeg


Thank you for joining me on my little tour through graffiti and wall art heaven! I bet we can all agree on the fact that Penelles had this amazing idea and did a great job turning the city around. Which of the Murals is your favourite? Let me know!

Regards,
Sascha


Sort:  

Those are some awesome murals. So many impressive ones. Nice finds!

Yeah they should do this to more villages!

Wow. Incredible, it left me speechless, especially those realistic pictures (the one with sheeps is also one of my favorite, considering where I live...).
It reminds me of a place that I saw in Sicily some years ago, Favara, close to Agrigento. But I would say this is even more impressive, because that one is just an artistic neighborhood. It's named Farm Cultural Park, if you are curious.
I'm so happy to see you're enjoying Spain so much ❤️

Yeah I can imagine that you like the sheep's as well as it fits the identity of farmers village.
Farm Culture Park, I'm gonna remember that in Case I happen to be in Sicily:)

We will see! 😁

Incredibly beautiful murals! I think it's a blessing in disguise that the village wasn't crowded since you got to thoroughly appreciate the murals.
BTW, I don't know the story. What is it?

Yeah I love traveling in offseason! The village was "dying" and people moved to the city. They created an art festival and since then, the people is growing and it created plenty of jobs!

Wow the street wall painting is something. It is something of a beauty I must confess

It was indeed!

Looking at the pictures, the walls are so pretty and each art style was so unique. 😍

Yeahhh it surely was!

Incredible murals. I can't keep my eyes watching these beautiful murals.

Haha yeah me too, my head was turning to all directions. So many colorful impressions around

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2147.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much @pinmapple and @ybanezkim26!

This town will be one of my stops in a month or so. Or maybe on the way back in summer, haven't decided the route yet.