YourMateTravels#37 - Perhentian Kecil - A Divers Paradise [EN]

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I thought of skipping this post but I really can’t for the sake of the beauty of this island!
Perhentian ‘Kecil’ (small in Bahasa Malaysia language) is such a gem and one of my favourite islands so far. It’s famous for being probably the cheapest place to do your OWD (open water diver)(around 250 €) and the place I beat my fear of diving.

IMG_20180604_132529.jpg
Long Beach at Perhentian Kecil.

Before I dive into it (pun intended) let me tell you an interesting part of getting there from the Vipassna center.
Actually I made some friends there and decided to travel onwards with one of them - Allesandro from Journey24. We took a 6 hour ride from Kuantan to the harbor, got off the bus for a toilet break and when we came back the bus was gone. Now it was particularly interesting how I did perceive this situation now compared to how I’d have perceived it weeks ago. I was really calm, took it as it was, looked for the bus and knew we’d figure something out eventually. Suddenly we spotted the bus at some intersection, started running and got on the bus - all cool. Normally I’d be quite nervous and probably despair. No more though - accepting the reality as it is and not how I want it to be seems to be built into my subconciousness now.

IMG_20180604_063856.jpg
Vipassana boy

Arriving at Perhentian Kecil I was able to breathe life and absorb everything I experienced. It was beautiful and this seemed to be one of the best places to be at right then.
No A/C, sometimes 24 hours of electricty, no WiFi, no hot water, no roads - but lots of warmth and kindness. The water was the clearest I’ve ever seen. I just stood there mouth wide open several times.

IMG_20180604_132308.jpg

IMG_20180604_131949.jpg

IMG-20180607-WA0015.jpg
Allesandro and Stephanie

Since my accomodation was actually a diving center I decided on overcoming my fear and doing a discovery dive. Best decision ever. What kind of fear? Well, I’m kinda claustrophobic and thought I’d freak out down there. After all it was great and I used about a fourth less oxygen than my peers because of the meditation I did.

DSC00195.jpg

After it I kept the water action going and went snorkeling as well. In the short time I was there I explored the island a bit before I’d go back to Austria to visit my family. Enjoy some pics here:

DSC00192.jpg

DSC00174.jpg

IMG_20180604_130553.jpg

Also they probably had the best sunsets I saw aside the ones in Seminyak beach on Bali.

IMG_20180605_064206.jpg

IMG_20180606_065802.jpg

See you again at Siargao island in the Philippines! :)


Hope you had a good read! Always happy about feedback.

Photos shot with: Google Pixel 2 (Smartphone)

Frequent story updates on Instagram

You find every other Steemit blog post in chronological order right here

All the best,
yourmate :)

Sort:  

Wunderschöner Strand! Und die Korallen"schule" find ich ja mal super!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=yourmate
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=yourmatetravels-37-perhentian-kecil-a-divers-paradise-en


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Servus,

du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten! Ich bin ein Curation-Bot und meine Mission ist, hochwertigen Content unter #steemit-austria zu fördern. Hier kannst du mehr über mich und meine Funktionsweise erfahren. Wie du an meinen Curation-Rewards mitverdienen kannst, wird dort ebenfalls beschrieben.

Übrigens: Wenn du den Tag #steemit-austria verwendest, finde ich deine Posts noch leichter!

Auf dem dem Steemit-Austria Discord-Server kannst du nette Leute kennen lernen und deine Beiträge promoten.

Zum aktuellen Tagesreport

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #315. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Wow, that is some crystal clear water! Just beautiful.

250 is a very nice price! When I was in Malaysia I visited Tioman, which is lovely as well. But my girlfriend went to Perhentian before I arrived in the country and loved it!

Congratulations @yourmate! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yourmate! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!