You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trekking in Nepal might not be what you think

in #travelfeed4 years ago

Lovely. Seems I stayed in the Annapurna GH in 2000. The photo really brought back some memories. Yes tea house trekking is super. I know its important to support the locals by using porters but we had small packs so didn't need one. So offseason. What month would you recommend? We always ordered the same food to cut down on the cooking fuel needed. As well we brought our own tea bags to cut down on expenses a bit. Nepal is a wonderful country with very nice people especially in the mountains. Could you imagine only going to Kathmandu and thinking this is Nepal? Did you try the local butter milk tea?

Sort:  

yes i tried that tea even though I am not much of a tea drinker, it was delightfully decadent.

I can't really imagine anyone going to just Kathmandu unless they were there on business. That is a horribly dirty city and was pretty much my least favorite part of the trip.

I do know a few people that fly into Kathmandu and then just fly straight on over to Pokhara, but to be fair to this couple they are in their 70's and it isn't exactly reasonable to expect them to climb mountain paths.

I also never used a porter but just like you, I was traveling very light and didn't need one. It wasn't a case of me trying to be stingy.

Yeah I'm into supporting locals but not really in need of someone to carry my bag and be my constant companion hehe.