You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Switzerland travel series - part 7 - Säntis

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Nice post! Wish you a good recovery! I was not as lucky as you with the weather when I was there last in July. About cable cars, I usually prefer to take them only to go down after a good hike up. Going up starting from Wasserauen, Seealpsee, Ebenalp then along the northern ridge up until Säntis was a very nice hike, though quite exhausting (2000m up).

Here before reaching Seealpsee, we could see our target Säntis waiting for us :
unnamed.jpg

Seealpsee that you mentioned :
unnamed.jpg

Starting the ascent, we pass below Ebenalp, with its famous Ascher cliff restaurant :
unnamed.jpg

Taking some altitude, now seeing lake Seealpsee below :
unnamed.jpg

We encounter some cows who seem to enjoy the view :

unnamed.jpg

Some parts are somehow challenging once we arrive closer to the top, but always well secured with cables or ladders :
unnamed.jpg

And finally the last exposed portion to reach the cable car !
unnamed.jpg

Clouds were all around unfortunately. But still a very rewarding journey : )

Sort:  

Wow!! This looks like a tough hike! 2000 m sounds tiring. We've seen people walking that final ascending part and I must say they looked exhausted.

I usually prefer to hike up as well, but it was not possible in my current conditions. I was grateful that there was the cable car even though I'm usually scared of hanging on a cable :)

I'm sorry to hear that it was cloudy. After such a hike, it would have been very rewarding for you to enjoy the views. I hope that you will manage to come again.

AND please make a post about your journey as I'm sure more people would enjoy it. Your photos are great! :)

Thank you for your amazing comment!

EDIT: I've just noticed that you're based in Zurich so I'm sure you'll be able to visit Santis again :) BTW, maybe we could organize a Swiss meet up in the future if there would be more Swiss based people :)

Thank you ! For sure I will post my hikes here, I have done a lot since I moved to Switzerland, just need time to put them together. I don't have a high quality camera, simply my phone, but would be happy to share trail descriptions with pictures

Best wishes and maybe see you on top of a Swiss mountain :)