You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Florence vegan experience

in #travelfeed6 years ago

There are many vegetarian options that can be veganized but I would not ask for it in a restaurant anymore. I ordered pasta with wild mushrooms and emphasized that it should be without cream and butter. First of all, I got to hear from the waiter that it wouldn't be good and that it is just a little bit. I told him that he should ask the chef to make it without. I am 100% sure they used butter as I was sick for the rest of the day. I could also taste it but I was telling myself that it was just in my head as I couldn't believe they would put it there after I told him twice not to do it.

I know that there are dishes that are vegan even if the restaurant isn't but having some allergies I prefer to avoid cross contamination that could potentially happen there.

To be honest I'm even not comfortable eating in vegetarian places as I know how sensitive I am.

Sort:  

Oh, understand. I get a fever with lactose or gluten contamination. It's better to avoid them and also Florence is not the friendliest city. In my case I miss the fresh local produce markets. I would live off of them! I'm happy there is a book store/juice bar at the train station now :)

Absolutely, better to be careful than suffer :) Well, the city itself is amazing. I loved the architecture and the history. But people are not that nice.. Maybe they are also fed up with tourists a little bit? I don't know :)

There was a different market every day. So amazing! I've never seen such big bell peppers in my life :D

Yes! That is a very nice place. We went there to have a look while we were waiting for a taxi as the queue was sooooo long :)

Yes, the markets are amazing !

There are too many tourists all year long for such a small city, and it's getting worse... imagine being a resident and having to queue all the time for everything.

The good thing is that veganism is growing in Italy, and that tourists have more food options that are not animal based. It's not all prosciutto and parmiggiano as the promoted stereotype on social media. :( I try to do my part to reverse this notion on my Italian blog.

I can imagine. I live in a touristy city in Switzerland myself and sometimes I'm getting crazy as there is no place in such small city. You can't get a quiet corner to read a book for example..

I'm glad that veganism is growing everywhere but in some countries it is easier than other. Recently I went to Berlin and it was the paradise for me. There were so many various 100% vegan places representing cuisines from all over the world. Just amazing :)

I'm looking forward to read your blog :)

I've heard that Berlin has a lot of vegan options.
At the stores here in Canada I find almost 90% of the vegan and gluten-free products imported from Italy, Germany and the US. I actually had no idea Italy produced so many of these products, but I also pay them at a lower price here :)
Italy is not a vegan paradise yet, but I always keep a grateful and positive outlook because we have come a very long way.
Here is a post about eating gluten-free in Italy :)
http://www.parlate.ca/2015/05/19/eating-gluten-free-in-the-country-of-pasta-pizza-pane/