You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Artist's Poverty Narratives

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback and passing this along! Yea, it's a conversation I have often with artists and solopreneurs and why I am fascinated by the UBI movement. I did sign up with SBI last year, but haven't tapped into it lately. I'll def fire it back up and check out the connections you mentioned too.
I was listening to a recent Tim Ferriss podcast with the artist Amanda Palmer and she devoted some time to fleshing this out. She talked about how her community on Patreon now supports all of her artwork and what a massive impact that made on her creativity. She no longer had to simultaneously create art and monetize it. She could just create art. So powerful to step back and think of this separation between creation and commerce, but not something we artists (or other business owners) take the time to actually do.