You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Individual Responsibility Vs Corporate: Should You Really Be Boarding Your Next Flight to Bali?

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

I always thought that Australia is doing good on climate change policies. I don’t know why. :)
I admit, I click your post because you put Bali on the title, I’m a half Balinese 😁
There’s a tradition in Bali called Nyepi day. Once a year, we don’t do anything, just stay at home, no transportation, airport shutdowned. We spent a day without any electricity, not even any traditional lights. Kinda like earth hour initiative by WWF, only for Nyepi day, it last for a whole day. I always wonder if this tradition is that kind local wisdom by our ancestors to protect environment 😁

Sort:  

I.wish we did Nyepi Day once a week! Imagine the difference that would make! I know its unfeasible because people want to make money and do things (imagine the outcry in the West because people couldn't watch TV or charge phones!) ..
But its a beautiful thought. What day is Nyepi Day, ir does it vary year ti year?

Nyepi Day is actually the New Year day of Balinese Saka Calendar. In Gregorian calendar, usually it comes on March or April. In 2020, Nyepi day will fall on 25th of March. :)