Museum For Chemical Engineers: Heineken Museum

in #travelfeed6 years ago

One thing I liked about Amsterdam was the interactive museums where the creators of the museums tried different methods to engage with the visitors. One of them was the Heineken Museum. In the pubs in Turkey, Heineken was always among the brands that were slightly more expensive compared to the local ones.

The first production of Heineken started in 1873, 9 years after Gerard Adriaan Heineken purchased a brewery in Amsterdam. In only two years, the brand gained the Medaille D'Or at the International Maritime Exposition in Paris, which facilitated its shipment abroad to Paris. In the following years, the brand won several other awards mainly in Paris. In the meantime, the original brewery where the production began was converted into today's Heineken Experience Museum. Source

The entry fee is 18 euros, but I purchased a museum card in Amsterdam that allowed me to enter up to 5 museums. I will write about the price details of this card in another post. Back to beer...

The inside of the museum was designed in a way to imitate the older days of brewing processes. I could see how the raw materials were added, mixed together and reacted with each other. For instance, the woman in the photo below was talking about a pollen-like substance that was added into the initial mixture. Then, we walked among the reactors that took place in the processing of these materials. As a sophomore who started double major in Chemical and Biological Engineering, I was quite impressed to see the application of what I learned in class into real life.

One of the best moments of the trip was the simulation room. We were all taken to a screening with something like a multi-dimensional movie experience. We watched a beer drop going into the pipes and being packaged into bottles. As the beer drop was travelling, our seats were also tilting to sides and shaking as if we were on a roller coaster.

After this entertaining experience, we were taken to the final room where they treated us with beer samples. Here, the guide was explaining how to pour the beer in a way to preserve the foam and why it is essential for a beer to be foamy (in order to keep the bubbles inside). At the same time, there was a screen with an interactive game that enabled us to create our own Heineken commercials and send them to three friends via e-mail.

Just when we thought that was the end of the trip, we found out that a half-an-hour-long canal tour was included in the experience. This was slightly shorter than the actual canal boat tours, but quite as informative. The guide gave information about important buildings, avenues, bridges and the architecture style of the structures. I will mention this in detail when I give a more detailed Amsterdam travel guide.

Overall, Heineken Experince was one of the most unique museum experience I ever had, probably because it greatly appealed to my field of interest.

Have you been to Heineken Museum before, what were your thoughts about it? Drop me a comment below.

Also, apologies for late replies to your comments, I need to gain more SP to be able reply to all the comments but I am getting there.


Sort:  

Amsterdam (and the Heineken museum) are still high-up on my bucket-list... I think your post just pushed it even higher ;-)

Hahaha I am flattered to hear that :) Let me know if you have any questions when you decide to go in the future ;)

Very cool. I went to school in St. Louis, Missouri, the home of Budweiser. The brewery tour there is awesome. They still use some of the very old equipment.

That sounds interesting! I wonder how their beer would taste like. I love Budweiser.

If there is a brewery to visit, I'll visit! Looks fun!

You should, this one is a central area in Amsterdam :)

Looks very interesting! In a past life I used to work in dairy processing as a maintenance fitter and I was also a maintenance foreman of a cake and fruit company. Chemical and Biology Engineering is an important and very interesting field my friend! Blessings!

Oh wow, that must have been so much fun! I guess I would eat everything up if I were in your shoes hahaha.

It really is an important field, and a very tough one to graduate from :)

@haritakurdu Sorry for the late reply! Well I have a feeling that you can do it. Blessings!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @rimicane and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I love going to the museums and learn, and this one seems to be more engaging than the Guinness museum I went to in Ireland. However, we got a free drink on the house at the end which sort of fixed the Irish experience!

I was actually very curious about the Guinness museum, because I love Guinness bear so much. It's one of my favorites.

Amsterdam museums are entertaining and educational, thoroughly enjoyed a few when we visited @haritakurdu

Never visited this one, so thanks for taking the time to share your experience there.

There are so many museums there! Which ones have you visited?

Put on the bucket list if I will go to Amsterdam thanks for sharing!!

Interesting museum and really cool to hear about their 3D experience. That must have been fun! I work in a chemical engineering company that measures constituent components (chromatography, dsc etc) so they may well be using one of our machines to measure the contents of their beer!

Thanks for sharing your visit and look forward to reading your Amsterdam guide

Posted using Partiko Android