Economy seat ediquitte

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

A friend and I were discussing today about flying cattle-class economy. Especially low-cost airlines and their limited room to move.

Should passengers be allowed to recline on short city-hops? We agreed it's fine if you are flying on a 777, 747 or A380 8 hours plus as those planes usually have more room.

The talk reminded me of a memory I wish I had not remembered.

I am sure it was on Ryan Air. I don't need much room as not long-legged, but Ryan Air really squeeze you in more than any other low cost.

I totally forget where "A and B" was. I am pretty sure it was a UK based "A" going to the European continent somewhere "B". A young 20-something couple conversing in Russian sat in front of me and downed their seats into recline position before take off. The last minute check by the crew pulled the seats back up and gave them a polite, smiley, no-no warning.

As the staff sat in their take-off positions the giggling couple's seats were reclined immediately. Very much in lust as they stuck tongues down each others throat oblivious to the world around them for the rest of the flight.

How do you explain that behaviour? Culture? Arrogance? Ignorance? Stupidity? Candid Camera? I don't care about the over affection, but have the seats down all the way from take off to landing. I do remember them keeping the seats up for landing when told .

I am one who never reclines my seat as the couple of inches it relieves is no worth the effort. It is like a false promise of relaxation and sleep. Not a banana lounge on the beach.
A tool of narcissists?

If you have some seat recline moaning stories, please comment. Surely I am not the only one to have stories. This is the best out of a few experiences.

Sort:  

@izzynoel, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!