Gringos In Paradise: Lago de Atilán

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Hello all and welcome to another edition of Gringos in Paradise. Today’s blog will show off some of the highlights Ross and I enjoyed at Lake Atilan or more correctly Lago de Atilán in Spanish


me and boat going out.jpg

After a bumpy few hours from Antigua by bus and being amazed how many people we passed could be crammed into a pickup truck (I think 13 was the most we saw). If you’ve ever been to Lake Atilan you’d be familiar how gut twisting the ride down the mountain into the town of San Pedro is. If you’ve never been here’s a little description.


Picture yourself going down a mountain that is dodging potholes, stray dogs and other vehicles also dodging potholes and did I mention shaking side to side the ENTIRE TIME. Switch back after switch back after nearly plunging off the cliff a few times and you will have made it!

Now the lake itself is stunning (but just don’t go swimming in it unless you want gastro) with towering volcanic mountains surrounding it giving plenty of things to explore if you love the outdoors. Our hostel was (this time I remember) Casa Felipe at a bargain price of $11 AUD per night and I would definitely recommend it with plenty of local street food around to keep you satisfied!


lake2.jpg

Now I forgot to mention that at this point of the trip my bag had been lost since the flight and I was assured I would have my bag within a few days. All I had was the clothes on me and a spare pair of underwear and socks I packed in my carry on (BEST TRAVEL TIP EVER!). I’ll read to you an exert from my travel diary from that day “Today would be great if - Aeromexico wrote back to me – Find some cool places in Xela – I find some wearable clothing”. Well all I can say is Aeromexico didn’t write back and I had found a man selling underwear out of a cart for $1 for 5 at 11pm after stumbling home drunk with a Tortuga sandwich in my hands (I wonder if he had other customers around that time?). Gringo score out of 10?


market.jpg

Feeling fresh with some new undies and food in my belly it was time to party. We headed to a recommended bar called Sublime. This place was off the hook! We were expecting the usual reggaeton smooth dancing but instead were greeted to the blasting bass of industrial techno and everyone letting their hair down, it was fantastic! Only strange this was they pull the plug at 2am and music stops and every goes home.


I forgot to mention Ross and I had to be up in a couple hours to hike the Indian Nose to get a look at the sunrise


With sudden shake of my body I violently jolted as the girl under my bunk (she was the one who suggested we go on this walk) woke me up. It took several shakes to wake up Ross. Him and I groggy beyond belief managed to stumble into the car which drove us to the start of the trail. Fortunately the walk was only around 45 minutes and we got to witness this ripper sunrise while enjoying this view of the lake and the surrounding mountains


sunrise.jpg

Here is Ross nailing it!


nailed it.jpg

In the distance you can see Volcan de Fuego erupting


sunrise2.jpg

A boat ride across the Lake later that day and we arrived in the hippie central of San Marcos. Here you find a plethora of Holistic yoga and meditation retreats, avocados the size of your head and colourful birds flying around. San Marcos was a lot quieter than San Pedro so it was really nice just to sit by the rocks, look out over the water and just chill after a hectic evening and morning.


by the rocks.jpg

Notice how I am wearing the exact same clothes as Antigua? Not a coincidence!


rocks.jpg

Heres a few shots of the beautiful contrast of the lake, mountains and boats.


lake and boats.jpg

boats3.jpg

Untill next time, Jules out!

So you’ve read all the way up until here? Awesome! To show my gratitude to my followers I will be giving a nice little tip to those comment or resteem today’s blog. An easy few cents is just a comment away!

Steemit World Map [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 14.690201 lat -91.271917 long Gringos In Paradise: Lago de Atilán d3scr)

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Aargh that losing bags thing is the worst! Least you had spares XD Did you get it back eventually? (or was it mentioned in the post and I somehow missed it). Did you remember much from the sunrise walk? Or the night before for that matter? XD Looks like you enjoyed the view at least :)

goatsig

Getting the bags back was a story in of itself! Fortunately I remembered everything and journaled it down!

great

Thanks man, glad you enjoyed it!

Nice photos ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=julesdan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=gringos-in-paradise-lago-de-atilan


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jules from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.