Istanbul Travel Diary - Day 1

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Hello everyone! It's good to be back!

I came back from Istanbul on Monday night and now I'm ready to share some posts about my experience in this beautiful city. I had an amazing time seeing some of my old friends that I met in Novi Sad, during the Exit festival, meeting new people, enjoying delicious food and turkish coffee, exploring and sight-seeing, going out and having so much fun... Unfortunately, I wasn't able to see everything that I wanted, since the city is so big but me and my friend already made a deal to come back again. :)

1.jpg

On our way to the airport. We had to get up at 5:30am to leave Novi Sad at 6am and drive to the Belgrade airport.

2.JPG

I absolutely love the views from the airplanes. I just can't help but admiring the beauty.

4.JPG

Airplane food and much needed coffee that I had to finish first because of the slight turbulences that followed us most of the flight. Nothing scary but enough to spill your drink. :)

3.jpg

At Istanbul airport.

5.JPG

It took us so long to get out of the airport because it was so crowded but we didn't mind, we were just way too happy to be there.

6.JPG

We had to change two metro's to get to our friend's area, where we were staying. He was working but his roommate was expecting us. We couldn't find the entrance to his building (we were just suppose to get around one building) and because we didn't have the Internet, we couldn't contact them. So we decided to go to the nearest restaurant, grab some food and wifi. :)

10.JPG

Our plan worked and we got a drawing from our friend that helped us find his building. We had food and I also had my first tea in Turkey.

7.JPG

Buildings in this neighborhood are so pretty,

8.JPG

Cats are everywhere!! And there also food and water for the animals at every corner - in front of building, cafes, restaurants... I really liked how people treat animals in this city.

9.JPG

I saw a girl pulling out a bag of cat food and sharing it on few different spots. So kind!

11.JPG

When we finally reached our friend's place, his roommate made us coffee, which we were so grateful for. It was great to laydown on the bed for a little bit and take a shower.

13.jpg

Dinner time! As you can tell from this picture, I was ready to demolish my food! :D

14.JPG

Even though I couldn't finish it all, it was nice to try some of the different foods, especially dolma and sarma. What I liked the most is this lasagne looking like dish, it was delicious!

15.jpg

After food, we took a short walk from the restaurant to the bar.

16.JPG

Even though the main streets were so crowded, small, side streets looked so peaceful.

17.JPG

These cocktails were so strong, we couldn't even finish them, haha.

18.jpg

Team! <3

19.JPG

Poor quality picture but she was so cute!

20.JPG

Our next location was a cool place, where you can go to different rooms, some to dance, some to sit and chill. One of them had this cool wall with screens in frames, it looks like a moving picture. We stayed here until midnight, that's when tiredness kicked in.

header8.jpg

That was our day 1 in Istanbul, I will continue making daily posts for each day we spent there as well as a two part video to follow along. I hope you're all doing well and I'll try to catch up with the posts I have missed while I was away.

header8.jpg

thank you for reading.png

Most photos are mine and taken with iPhone 5, some of them were taken by my friends! :)

header8.jpg

GV logo.png

400_square.png

@nikolina logo.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like a wonderful time and a beautiful city. Thanks for sharing @nikolina

Indeed!

Thanks for stopping by! :)

No videos? :'(

Part I will be uploaded today. :)

Woohooo!!
Keep them coming
Vlogger :D

Awesome! Thanks for sharing with us your adventure. Really like how the animals are fed in the streets, that is really touching.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks!

I liked that too, I've never seen such compassion for animals before.