You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Individual Responsibility Vs Corporate: Should You Really Be Boarding Your Next Flight to Bali?

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Humans love to place the blame on others.

We absolutely do!!! I totally get the supply and demand thing, and consumer demand absolutely drives the market and, like you say, it's stupid to say that Maccas made me do it. We definitely know that these corporations rely on us not caring and falling for marketing ploys that we think make us better in some way - fitter, healthier, sexier, more popular. For many of us educated folk or those with an ounce of common sense or social conscience, it's not hard to make oneself just as accountable as the corporations that make this stuff to meet our greed. I absolutely, unequivocally agree with you there! Yes, yes, yes society DOES need to change at large.

However, the point I'm trying to make is that we all have to change and that's including corporations who are also socially accountable. The thing is, big corporations are very, very good at removing choice by removing competition, and continuing to create products they know people need - not always WANT (for example, I live in a remote area, and if I want to get anywhere, I have to drive - and, living in a country with ridiculously high car import taxes, I can't afford an electric vehicle and my only option is to continue to support a fossil fuel industry that I feel deeply uncomfortable with) - and, being unaccountable, and often given huge tax breaks, and the licence to do many morally questionable things in the interest of profit, yes, I think I can argue that governments have a duty of care toward it's people by ensuring that these companies cause the least harm possible. I believe the corporations are just as responsible as the individual. And not only that, I believe it's possible to have a corporation driven by moral imperatives that can still make a profit, inspire others to do so, and create competition to lower prices. Not everyone can choose 'green' flights (costly) but if they are available, and people like me are willing to pay that little bit extra (moral accountability) eventually everyone will start doing it and the prices will be competitive.

And oh god, fuck yeah! Greed is going to be our downfall. How much better would it be if we stopped wanting, wanting, wanting - satiating a happiness nerve that is never, never satiated.

I am rambling a bit, acknowledging we actually are saying the same thing. xx :P - @riverflows xx