Share my world: Off roading in American Fork Canyon, Utah

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I am so excited to post about this adventure.

Recenty brother @jarvie and I went off roading in American Fork Canyon. I flew from Arizona to Utah for my nephew's wedding. I got in around noon and then visited with my uncle and one of my dad's friends that he grew up with (cool story there). Then Scotty and I met at Kneaders for dinner and I got my 20-70 Sigma lens and we headed to the mountain for sunset.The sunset was pretty good. The lightning storm after, was amazing!

Here is our journey.

First, gotta get gas and clean the windshield.

I had just got my lens so I was talking lots of pictures. While I was taking these pictures I totally thought of @soyrosa and her Taking pictures through dirty train windows collection.

Now we are on the road and headed up to the canyon.

Mountains are my favorite, especially rocky ones!


Our first stop was the parking lot at American Fork River reservoir

@jarvie let some air out of his tires and I took a few pictures.


As we climbed the mountain we had some amazing views of Timp


Narrow Rough Road

Off roading with @jarvie is so fun! He is a great driver and I like high adrenaline activities.


A few details along the way


Pack Lammas in a field

Optional Text
Click for larger picture.

This idyllic picture of llamas grazing in the field was my submission for the @czechglobalhosts North America contest.

These llamas were happy hanging out by themselves and didn't want anything to do with us. I did get one when the brown and white one looked my way. At the top of the mountain we talked to their owner.

Continuing the climb up the mountain. The sky and the trees were on point!


Click for larger picture and for blog post.


We made it to the top of the mountain.

There was a big field surrounded by rocky mountains. It was gorgeous and the only sound was the rustling of the wind through the trees. I would love to camp up there sometime.

Got some fun shots of @jarvie.

I'm ready for the next @photogames contest asking for a photos of the photograher.

Right before sunset

Sunset


What a gorgeous night!

Lightning shots

We went for sunset and ended up getting some great lightning shots. This was my first time taking lightning pictures.


This is my first ever. And my blog post about it.

And these were the next two. It started raining and we needed to get off the mountain before the storm got too close. I am excited to do lightning pictures again.

It was a great off roading adventure with @jarvie up American Fork Canyon.
Utah is one of my favorite places and I am so glad I get to visit so often.

Sort:  

Wow, timing must be everything. And sweet camper pickup.

Wow! I want to hire your driver :)
I enjoyed very much yours "lots of pictures - less words" style!
Great post!!!

Thanks so much. I feel real fortunate that @jarvie knows how to off road and I have gotten to see otherwise not accessible places with him.

WOW - spectacular roadtrip you guys did! Truly awesome and the lightning pictures turned out so great :D

I love the 'dirty car windows' shots with @jarvie's face as your subject :')

Gorgeous post @sjarvie5!!!

Thanks @soyrosa. I am glad you liked the reference to you and your collection and @jarvie faces are priceless.

Thanks for the ride! Some of those purples from your lightning shots require a new color code! Great adventure.

So glad you enjoyed it.

I feel like you documented one of my offroad trips better than I ever have!! haha

Also you can see the difference in the new camera... like a lot!

Aww thanks brother. We will just have to go on more trips like this. I really do like off roading and my new camera!!!

Hi sjarvie5,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

Amazing photos! Those lightening ones are super awesome. Yeah Utah is a great place. I enjoyed living there for 3.5 years from 2001 to 2004. Good times! And definitely great scenery there!

Thanks Matt I really had so much fun taking them and Utah is awesome.

You are very welcome! :)

Sara, this is amazing! You are such a great photographer! I love all of them.

It looks like you had a great day with your brother. It's nice that you both share the same passion.

Thank you Martina. I agree. It is so fun that we like so many of the same things and we have become really good friends in recent years.

It's amazing that you have such a nice relationship with your brother! Family is the most important!

What a great road trip @sjarvie5. Those lightning shots are amazing.

Looks like you got the best of both worlds as far as the weather was concerned. 😁

Thanks so much Gillian. Yes, we were lucky with the weather, it was amazing.

Will that guy wash my windshield for steem? Haha! Great photos @sjarvie5 and it looks like a great time too!

Ha ha, I would definitely ask for those faces if you get your windshield washed by @jarvie, that was the best part! Thanks so much. It was great.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you very much.

Congratulations on being curied! So well deserved!

Thanks Martina. Love when that happens!

Hello stunning photos for a first time photographing lighting i think you did a pretty amazing job!!!

Thank you so much. I am excited to follow you and see your beautiful photography also.

Thank you so much but im just an amateur in photo:D

The silhouette of the mom and child is great.

This is awesome. You should have swung by and picked me up along the way. I live right next to the canyon, lol.

Yes, we will have to do that next time I am in Utah.

Wow, Wow, Wow ! I have never been to the United States. Its amazing how different the terrain is. Not to mention how different the Animals are. Also, extremely good photography ... obviously a good camera that you know how to use.

Thank you Bonny. That is one thing I am really enjoying about Steem is seeing the world through the eyes of people all over the world. Your art is great. I look forward to seeing more.

Stunning photos. I bet you enjoyed a lot :)

Thank you. Yes I did enjoy the trip a lot.

In a single word just awesome. I wish to attend such a beautiful trip. I hope you enjoyed a lot.

Thanks very much.

howdy from Texas sjarvie5! oh my gosh now I'm putting Utah on my travel agenda, that looked amazing! The mountain views are stunning enough with no storms but those lightning shots you got were spectaclular!

How does one catch such great shots, is there a way to know when the snap the short or is it mostly luck? great job!

Hi @janton from Texas. Yes Utah is an incredibly beautiful state. We were doing 20 second timed intervals so in some we go black and in the others thesis beautiful lightning shots.

howdy back sjarvie! oh I see so it was just set to automatically take them every 20 seconds? that's very cool. Well you guys don't live in Utah but you go there on vacations and such?
what a wonderful way to get great post material!

Wow, when you go to places that are hard to get to, you get the shots that others can't get. The first shot in the post had me digging for more. I love storms and the beauty of lightning, and you got some really great shots in. Then mix in the mountains, Just knowing how large the mountains are, then the lightning was really awesome, and some huge bolts.
Really great job.

Thanks so much. It was an amazing trip.

It looked like it. It's always a ball taking the jeep out for an off-road adventure, and the kids love it.

Adrenaline shots. lightning bolts, and a fantastic sunset. All in all sounds like a perfect day. So glad you decided to share with us.
Do you ever play with photo shop? I bet the lightning would make great backgrounds.

Yes it was an amazing time. I do not do photoshop. I see that you are playing Steemmonsters too. I am excited for it to come out.

Are you going to play the tournaments? I have not checked back since they put out the post with the rules. I have been collecting a few cards and loosely following the progress.
I tinker with digital art a bit. Some of the artist on the platform can produce breathtaking results.

Yes, I have been getting cards and plan to play. I like strategic games and this one looks very cool. I agree the art is great!

What a beautiful place and you are brave to go in there! I already loved the shots from the road, which would be as far as I would go.

And great shots of the lightning. I try to catch it sometimes and get blurs or black sky. It seems to be bigger when you do not try to shoot in a city like I do. I am normally on a balcony where I can get to safety in one second.

Congrats on the curie vote. This is how I found you and this post sure deserves the honor :)

Thank you so much. Yes, the lighting from the outside the city makes all the difference.

Its good to see that you have started your journey with "gotta get gas and clean the windshield", that's one of the important steps along with to get your vehicle serviced. I have seen so many times that the vehicle break down in the middle of the journey. And I really liked the lightning pictures, it's amazing :)

Thank you so much, they were so fun to take.

Are those lightning shots partly edited? They seem so surreal with the color purple, pardon me for my ignorance but it's the first time I noticed the purple, violet and indigo colors more prominent on lightning pictures. I usually see red and orange surrounding the lightning.

Anyway, those are indeed amazing shots and the adventure was worthwhile. The mountainous regions from where I live pale in comparison to the forest and terrain seen on these pictures.

hi @adamada, the edits are mostly in the contrast, shadows and exposure. Since it was right after the sunset we got the great blues and purples from blue hour. It was actually dark and we had the shutter on for 20 seconds so it picked up more light than we could see with our eyes.

Utah really does have great mountains! Where do you live?

Hello @sjarvie5,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Amazing Nature".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-128th-edition-amazing-nature

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Well thank you very much!

While i can appreciate the landscape and the outdoors photos, those lightening shots are truly stunning. It's always nice to get out to the wilderness and escape from everything. Its why i love going back to my parents house as they live in the countryside and gets me away from the city.

Thank you so much. Yes, I love getting out in nature.

It's such a nice thing to do. I never enjoy being cooped up in cities for too long. I always need to go out to the countryside to clear the head.

Posted using Partiko Android

The view of the mountain and the trees are just spectacular, I just love them all. I also do love the photos of the lightening you took, they look really beautiful for your first time. That must have been a really fun and adventurous roadtrip.

Thank you. Yes, it was great.

Wow its amazing scenery all over here

@sjarvie5 Excellent premiere of your camera with so many super incredible shots. What beautiful scenery the rocky mountains have to offer. It is a privilege to enjoy this pleasant adventure with your excellent friend who drives well. You captured the beams with your camera very well. The pictures were very interesting for you.

They were my favorite. @jarvie you are an excellent driver a great greeting. What a stunning and beautiful picture of the river and the trees in the background. Great adventure, my friend. Thank you for sharing it with all of us.

Thank you very much.

Thanks to you for your excellent publication and wonderful photos. I got to know this beautiful landscape thanks to your article. Happy night. Happy night.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-28T11:56:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 242.65/200.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

If you would like to stop receiving comments then reply!STOP!

the sign "narrow rough road" was not kidding :D
Lightning if fascinating but i think the most interesting photos of lightning are from cities. it is hard to do an interesting composition when your only light is the lightning, and it is probably not that safe to be on the mountain at that time :D