Taking Glacier Express train through Swiss mountains

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

P1122131.jpg

Trains are like my best friends in Switzerland. I take them everywhere: from home to uni, from uni to another city, from another city back home, and so on. One day while I am working in my studio, I found out that I can take the Glacier Express for free! (normally it costs 153 CHF from Zermatt - St. Moritz) with my monthly Swiss Pass, how excited!!

P1122106.jpg

P1122065.jpg

P1122031.jpg

It costs 13 CHF to book for the date and winter ride is cheaper than the summer ones. I took the earliest train from Bern to Zermatt to catch the glacier express. Once I got on I was super excited by the 360 view surrounded (lol). I even brought my food since I know I am going to hang in here for a while. As the train moves into the snow, circling up the mountains, passes through the woods and along the canal, I set my mind free. I felt quite amazed how people can build (the railway) in this high up and far away places.

P1122089.jpg

P1122105.jpg

I ended up getting off before the final station St. Moritz because it would take too long to reach home. All in all, this route is absolutely amazing and I would recommend it for sure. For quite a while, I felt like I am taken into another world, into a snow fairy dream.

P1122128.jpg

P1122153.jpg

P1122024 copy.jpg

Sort:  

great Post, thanks

Thank YOU!! :D

Nice to see some blogs about my homecountry!! Looking forward to read more of you :)

Thank you so much! I LOVE Switzerland. I used to live there and it had been an amazing time of my life :)

Yeah switzerland is great! I was born here and lived here all my life and love it, but still i want to leave asap. Life is too short to stay at the same place :)

Yup! totally agree with you on this :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theviewfinder
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=taking-glacier-express-train-through-swiss-mountains


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the latest edition of the #TravelDigest!