Introducing myself to TravelFeed: TravelFury

in #travelfeed4 years ago

Introducing myself to TravelFeed: TravelFury

Read "Introducing myself to TravelFeed: TravelFury" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Swimmin’ and slidin’ somewhere in Subic Bay

Hey there travelmaniacs!

My name is Jeff Caceres, and I love to travel around the Philippines and the globe. I'm 33 years old, single, the eldest among the three siblings (I'm the only guy lol), and still enjoying whatever I have in my life. Let me tell you a bit about myself when it comes to travel.

When I was a kid, I'm not a fan when it comes to travel. My mom back then was working in the government, and they have an annual getaway with her co-workers anywhere they want. Even though I don't like to travel before, she insisted me to join her and the whole family.

My family and I in Singapore tour last May 2013

You know what makes me "finally in love" in travel? It's when my parents treated all of us siblings for a Malaysia-Singapore trip because we all graduated in college. I would never forget those days.

I started to realize how beautiful and amazing it was for me to travel in the Philippines and overseas. Because of that, I have started to explore around a bit when I have the budget and time to travel anywhere I want.

Chillin’ out in the white sands of Boracay Island

Enjoyin’ my moment at the Chocolate Hills in Bohol

My unplanned trip to Kawasan Falls

Lookin’ at the beach somewhere in Camotes Islands

Not only I roam around the Philippines, but I also have the opportunity to go overseas either by myself or with my friends.

Explorin’ the Disneyland Hongkong

Lookin’ at the magnificent Marina Bay Sands in Singapore

Candid photo in the streets of Taipei

Encountering the Petronas Twin Towers in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

An elephant carrying me through it’s nose in Thailand

Why am I here in TravelFeed?

* Because I am passionate about travel and tourism, I want to share my travel stories to the community around the world.

* I want to help the community by sharing some of my travel tips and advice about my hometown, Bacolod City (a.k.a. The City of Smiles), and the other places I've visited. I'll also include foods, landmarks, festivals, etc.

* I want to learn from the travel community as well. Like in case I want to go somewhere, I can read some useful tips and advice from others who have visited or are already in those places.

* I want to gain new friends with the passionate travel community. I always love making new friends who are having the same passion as me.

* I'm also planning to start my own travel Youtube channel (still working on it), so I want to share some travel vlogs I have here for the TravelFeed community.

I'm so excited to start sharing my travel experiences and guides with all of you! Cheers and have a nice day everyone!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Haha that elephant picture is awesome! Must have felt really weird to be picked up by his trunk! And it's true, once you get the travel bug, you really don't get rid of it so I'm glad you have found it and looking forward to seeing more of your travel posts on travel feed, will start following you now :)

Thank you so much @nickyhavey! However, in order for me to get picked up by the elephant's trunk, I need to pay some money. It's not free though. But still, I'm just sad that these elephants are abused. Chain in their legs, bleeding in their foreheads (covered by cloth) and so on. However, it's one of the unforgettable experiences I have in my Thailand tour. I missed Thailand by the way. Expect more interesting travel stories from me later. ;)

Hi @travelfury, this is @elsaenroute from the TravelFeed team. We're so happy to meet you and we would like to send you our warmest welcome! We invite you to join our chat group in Discord. It's where our community comes together and where you will meet like-minded travelers. Thank you for being part of TravelFeed.io!

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go and receive notifications from the community with our Android App. Get it on Google Play

Thank you so much for the warm welcome @travelfeed and @elsaenroute. It's been a long while that I want to do travel blogging/vlogging, but I'm glad that I found this platform and decided to start here. You guys have an amazing travel Steem community, and you all are doing great! Anyways, I am already on Discord and would get to know y'all. Cheers!

We're happy to have you!

Michael Jordan is the best. love your hat, Jeff. Haha the elephant got you.

Thank you very much man. Yes I'm a long-time Michael Jordan fan. I just bought it from sidewalk lol. As for the elephant, it's a great opportunity to get lifted by the elephant's nose. Would love doing it again when I have the opportunity to come back to Thailand.

Actually, the elephant is the only thing I don´t like about your intro post as I am strongly against abuse of animals in any industry, including tourism, but other than that I like your post and the photos. Welcome to TravelFeed/Steem.

Thank you for the warm welcome @phortun and I understand how you feel about the elephants man. While the elephant carried me, I'm happy because it's a gentle giant. However, there's a big part of me that I'm sad too. They are being abused, yes. I see that most of the elephants I've seen in Thailand are bleeding in their foreheads, as the ones driving them are having mining picks. When these elephants don't behave, they would actually hit them with the mining picks to keep them going or stop. They're doing it for money. I just hope one day that these elephants are being set free, but may not happen soon.

Thanks for this feedback man. I appreciate it. Actually, even if they were not beaten, just holding these mangificent creatures in captivity, chained and deprived of their natural lifestyle and freedom, is a disgusting case of animal abuse in my book. They were born to be free, not to be exploited by humans. There are other facilities and sanctuaries where people can interact with elephants without hurting them or supporting this cruel business. Maybe next time you are in Thailand, you will think about it ;) Cheers.

who said anybody was abused?

A chained elephant forced to lift tourists for money is not animal abuse? Man, don´t even get me started on this...

Do you believe in private property rights?

In my book, animal rights are superior to property rights. So in your opinion, it´s ok to abuse an animal just because you own it? Seriously? In the 21st century?

Welcome travelfury!
eSteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Steem.

Download Android and iOS apps. Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Welcome to steemit @travelfury.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @travelfury!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 4 with 225 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 7 with 14 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 3,78

Welcome to TravelFeed! I want to go back to Bacolod especially for the Masskara festival. Great pics although not a fan of (working) elephants in circus/shows as they go through "spirit crushing". Looking forward to your travel blogs and vlogs!

Thank you very much @wanderein! Yes I agree with you regarding the elephants. These gentle giants deserved to be free, not being abused. I'm happy to be picked up by the elephant though, it's one heck of an experience. Masskara Festival is several months away though. Let me know if you're planning to go back in Bacolod, we can meet. There's so many things you can find here, especially cities and municipalities outside of the city. I'm also looking forward to your upcoming travel stories too! Cheers!

Hey travelfury! If you would like to make your personal feed contain the top trending media and talking points of the whole internet, consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts - And welcome to Steem!