WanderList #2: Siargao for Non-Surfers

in #travelfeed β€’ 6 years ago

Happy Humpday, dear Steemians! 😊

I'm so excited to be sharing another list with you. This time, it's about my favorite island here in the Philippines..

🌴 S I A R G A O πŸ„

For this issue of my WanderList series, I will talk about other things you can do in Siargao aside from surfing.

Some of you might think you can only go there for that but Siargao has a lot to offer, even for non-surfers. Let's start!


1. Swim in the natural rock pools

This would easily be one of your favorite spots in Siargao, I tell you. It may not be like anything you've seen before. I, myself, was pleasantly surprised when I saw the naturally-formed saltwater pools! They are like infinity pools with crystal clear waters, right next to a big ocean, separated only by a reef which you can actually walk on during low tide. How awesome is that?!

The most economical way to go here is by renting a motorbike for around PhP350-400 (7-8 USD) and driving here yourself. It's about an hour away from the center, General Luna. You can get a map from your hotel or use Google maps. The roads are paved and smooth so you should be fine. Rentals are usually for 24 hours, so if you borrowed it at 2PM, you can return it at 2PM the following day. That gives you more than enough time to explore not only Pilar, where Magpupungko is, but the other parts of the island too.

Just to share a funny story, I tried renting a motorbike but I can't even get past the driveway of the hotel πŸ˜‚. I thought I could do it as I remember riding a motorbike when I was younger. But boy was I wrong! 😰 Anyway, I returned the key to the owner and she gave me back my money. She must be trying to hold in her laughter. Hahahaha.

For those who don't know how to ride a motorbike, you can hail a habal-habal or motorcycle, the main mode of transportation on the island, and ask the driver to take you to Magpupungko. Rate for a tour to Magpupungko is around PhP800 to PhP1,000 (USD 16-20). Entrance fee is PhP50 (1$) per person and parking fee is PhP20.

The Magpupungko is a tidal pool. Thus, it is important to check if it's low tide before going. Water current is strong during high tide and swimming may not be allowed. You wouldn't want to travel for an hour on a motorcycle only to find out you can't swim in those cool rock pools.

Aside from swimming, you can also cliff dive in Magpupungko. Be careful when you climb to the jump off point as the rocks look jagged.

If you're lucky, the low tide will last for hours. You may even catch the sunset on this part of the island.

Don't stay too late if you're driving though. There aint much lighting on their roads yet.


2. Rent a bike/motorbike and explore the island

You can meet the locals, see the sights where most tourists won't go, stop by the less crowded beaches -- there is beauty in exploring a place at your own pace.

πŸ—’ Note to self: Learn how to ride a motorcycle.


3. Island hop to the nearby islands

There are three gorgeous islands near the main island of Siargao. I'll tell you more about them in a while.

The rate for a day of private island hopping, if you book in your hotel, is around PhP1,300 (26 USD) per person. This includes entrance fees and lunch.

But wait, there is a cheaper alternative! Hooray! You can talk to a local and hire a boat for PhP1,300-1,500(26-30 USD). The boat can fit up to 8 persons so if you split this with friends, that's less than PhP200 or 4 USD each. That's a very good deal!

For lunch, you can bring your own food, buy fresh goods from the market and ask your boatman to cook it for you on the island (for a minimal fee), or just buy in one of the islands.

First stop usually is the Naked Island. It is a long stretch of white sandbar with no trees. There was a bit of grass growing when I went there but it's still pretty much naked.

Most people don't stay here for long as there's no shade nor a place to take cover in when the sun gets too hot. β˜‰ But I like swimming here as the water is really clear and it's cooler to be underwater than above it. Haha. 🐟

Let me share with you what I like to do when I'm on the beach aside from swimming.

I look for bits and pieces of corals on the shore that look like letters and make a coralphabet.

This is how it looks like:

You can do that too next time you go to the beach. It's fun but allow me to warn you, it's harder than it looks!

Next stop is Daku Island. Daku is a Bisaya term which means big. It is the biggest of the three islands with little huts lined along the beach. This is where people have their lunch and rest. It's also a good place to swim.

You'd have to pay entrance and cottage fees if you're on the budget island hopping option. Rental of the small huts costs around PhP300 (6 USD).

You can also just rent a long table with bench at PhP150 (3 USD) where you can have your freshly-grilled fish and meat!

If you're tired from all the swimming, you may take a nap or simply stare at that beautiful blue waters in front of you.

You may also roam around the island and maybe climb some coconut trees 🌴 to burn all the calories from your sumptuous lunch. 😁

Last stop is the small island called Guyam.

The island is surrounded by a big reef and has amazingly clear waters. There's a lot of palm trees and I can stay there for hours lying under the shade with a book on my hand. I wish I own this island so I never have to leave Siargao! πŸ˜‚

You can finish this tour in 4 or 5 hours but why rush when you're in paradise!


4. Beach bum

If your idea of a vacation is lying on powdery white sand to get a tan, taking a dip in the turquoise water, and finding shade under the palm trees, then Siargao is the place for you. It's not hard to find a beach which you can enjoy all to yourself.

You may want to stay at a beachfront property so you can basically just hang out there and relax. You can read a book, have a massage, and get your much deserved rest.


5. Eat, eat, eat 🍴

There are plenty food options on the island and I'm going to share with you my favorites.

Shaka serves healthy fruit bowls, smoothies and coffee. You can stay outside and watch the waves in the horizon as you finish your bowl of goodness. πŸ‰πŸ₯πŸŒπŸŽπŸ

Kermit has the best pizza and hot sauce on the island, in my opinion. It's a cozy place to hang too! They will be opening a branch in Makati (where I live) so yay!

A new favorite is Hey Babe which has yummy pork and chicken barbeque. They also serve isaw, a famous streetfood in the Philippines and it's so good!

I also love Yeah-yeah Taco! It's simple, fast, cheap but delicious!

There are a lot of other restaurants you can try and that gives us all the more reason to stay longer on the island, if not forever. 😁



So are you booking a ticket to Siargao now? I wouldn't be surprised if you are!

If you'll be staying for 5 days or more, you can go diving or fishing. You can also visit Sugba Lagoon, Sohoton Cove, and all the other wonderful beaches and islands in Siargao.

See you on the island, yes?!


xoxo πŸ˜™,
@wander-full

Sort: Β 

so amazing.

Hi there @rifkan! πŸ‘‹ It really is an amazing island worth a visit! Thank you so much for dropping by!

Ang ganda kababayan! patuloy mo lang, followed you :)

Salamat @bettasplendens! Glad you liked this post! 😁

@wander-full!!! Gaaaaaah the islands and the waters are so beatutiful!!!😍

But, seriously you thought you could drive a motorbike?come on!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Yes. They said it's just like riding a bike but it was nowhere near.

Nice.. Follow dan vote me...

my Dream destination!

hi @orangelife! So nice of you to drop by. Start planning your visit! It's a little piece of paradise in Earth!

i love the alphabets!

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Thanks. You can give it a try too! 😊

I like to read every post you .. I also learn a lot of steemit from every post you. Whether it's writing or photos.
Thank you companion steemians..
My curiosity you want to visit my blog awaiting for me..

Siargao Island is really a beautiful place! and it seems like there are lots of activities to do. Hope to visit it soon :)

It really is gorgeous! The mere beauty of its beaches is more than enough reason to visit @josephbuarao!

Yay! I'm so glad to see this has been Curied! What a fantastic article, @wander-full! Such clear waters. I'm reading, thinking, "I want to go there, and there, and there..." Lovely. And, oh! The food! Yum! Thanks for taking me to paradise, even if it's in photos and words.Maybe one day... :)

You are always so kind, @katrina-ariel! Thank you very much! I understand it's cold where you are right now so I hope the image of the beach and the thought of tropical islands made you feel "warm"! β˜‰ Again, thanks for being so supportive and for spreading positivity! πŸ‘

Tropical paradise island! Been travelling around the Philippines for two years but not been to Siargao yet.

You should definitely include Siargao in your list, @vagratone! And how are you liking it here in our country so far? Hope you are having a blast! 😊

Yep sure am. Been living in Cebu, Dumaguete, Bacolod, Iloilo and Legazpi.

Oh yeah? I will go to Dumaguete this August! I'm so looking forward to that trip. You may wish to consider going to Batanes too @vagrantone 😊

watch the movie Siargao and it was beautiful....I was in Cagayan de Oro last January 26 to 29,2018 and planned to go to Argao but it as aborted by a very uncontrollanle circumstance that I have to go home.....so excited to visit it this summer...thanks yours is really an very good information ...please can you rite about the fabled pink beach of Laoang , Northern samar just requesting ahhahahahah

Hi @wildcollector! Sorry to hear about your cancelled trip but hey, you're going this summer! Wee! I'd like to write about that pink beach in Samar but I have not been there. Maybe I'll visit it so I can write about it. 😁 I wrote about the pink sands of Zamboanga in my earlier post. Maybe you can check it out!

sure.....are you a female i can give you a free stay in my humble house and yes have you been to Tacloban City.......

Yes, I went to Kalanggaman Island via Tacloban @wildcollector

i went there too and it was during its prime ..its really beautiful but the distance from Palompon scared me....so until now i discoraged my sister who wants to tag her 2 year old daughter....have you been to Sambawan Island or the famous Beri rock formation of Beri island

It's safe to go there but it can be quite exhausting. Nope, have not been to Beri Island. Is it nice there too?

Wow! Nice picture! Bravo! πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜ŽπŸŒžπŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

Thanks @gilbertanti! The place is beautiful and the photos do not really do justice to how gorgeous Siargao is.