The Amunches

in #traveling6 years ago (edited)

Amunches means "travellers" in the old mapuche language of Patagonia. I love hearing peoples' stories, especially extraordinary stories. The story of the Amunches is one of the most inspiring, or actually the most inspiring story I have ever come across.
Yesterday I met Patricia and German plus their 9 year old daughter, Inti,(which means the sun)at a Sky Magic festival (Cielo Mágico) here in Monterrey, Mexico. I bet I have never asked so many questions to one person in one sitting and still not have even half of them answered. Nevertheless, I had most of the curious one answered.

So Patricia and German met just like any other couple and got married. "My husband and I had a dream of living a different life. We wanted to discover different landscapes, people and traditions cutting across the south to north of Latin America. We started our journey from Argentina in 2003 and we have been to some states in the US like Alaska, Houston, Colorado and the whole of Latin America like Brazil, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia,Venezuela, Ecuador, panama, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Honduras... " She went on and on with the list until I lost count. Patricia and German together with their daughter are currently here in Mexico and their dream is to continue to Europe and eventually cross over to Africa.
The Amunches do not travel like ordinary people. They do not book flights nor do they take buses or subways! They travel in their house. How cool is that? No early mornings to catch a flight, no fear of missed flights, no frustrations of delayed or cancelled flights or just long nights at the airports. For a moment, I was completely carried away as I listened to Patricia's story. For a moment I so wanted to be her, I wanted her moving house, I wanted her courage, I wanted her LIFE!
This family has this huge bus that they bought from a school in Houston, USA. They converted the bus into a house and into their moving home. The bus has a beautiful sitting room with decorations from different origins neatly hanged on the walls, just like a normal house, beautiful night bulbs that look like improvised chandelier, a sized corridor leading to the two bedrooms of the house, one for them and the other one for Inti, a kitchen with a sink a cooking stove(I guess it uses cooking gas and how they have it there, I forgot to ask) and a bathroom. Part of the front of the bus is obviously spared for the driver's seat where they take turns when on transit. I can't describe much the house since I only had a glimpse of it because it was dark.
Amunches moving home.jpg This is a photo of the Amunches family that I took during Cielo Magico festival yesterday at Santiago here in Monterrey.

I forewent my usual salsa night for this night and it was worthwhile. I had great company and an amazing evening even though it was freezing cold. We had not soo much fun but interacting with the Amunches was an highlight. It's incredible to be different, amazing how in a world where everyone is busy trying to conform to societal expectations, this family chooses to live their dream and fulfill their curiosity. This was such an inspirational encounter for me. More information about this power family can be found here https://www.lanacion.com.ar/2095808-los-amunches-viajan-por-el-continente-a-bordo-de-un-bus-escolar. Although in Spanish, but thanks to google translator.
One thing I will never forget is her response when I tried to tip her for being overly inquisitive: "I just want you to remember me and dare to be different."
My heart melted as she stretched out to offer me a souvenir of a picture of a girl from Honduras that she said she looked like me. Aurora.jpgThis is Aurora the girl from Honduras who happens to be Patricia's favorite photo.
More photos with my friends from the night.
more.jpgand more.jpg
Have a fruitful week as you dare to be different.

Sort:  

It was an incredible experience with this couple. But truly the african in me wont make me try that.😒

Haha... The African in you or the societal expectations that we've been enslaved to?

I think every culture has their societal expectations, with which I believe none is superior

Congratulations @polyn2057! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @polyn2057! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!