You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cityscape - Quick Тravel Photo Contest, Edition #65

in #travelphotocontest5 years ago (edited)

8jwql4.jpg
St.Petersburg, Russia
Canon 5d + 16-35mm lens used.

Shot this stone stella just today in the morning, cycling to my office (you can see my bike on the background).

Located on the famouse road from St.Petersburg to Moscow - knoown as the main magistral road of the Russian empire - this sign... er... well, they were marking the distance... This one has visible numbers "11" and "13". I do not think it's kilometers; perhaps this is "versta" (an old Russian measure of length, 1 versta = 1067 meters) - to the next post station, where horses could be changed! It is pretty old, back to the 17th century.

ps. check an example of the same stone marks from Saksonia, XVIII century.

I hope I came in with an intresting fact and piece of history, exactly matching to the travel contest subject... which is more important than just a prettyface picture. If I am not correct, correct me?

Sort:  

Lovely post, thanks so much for sharing this amazing and interesting information!
The daily theme is free to interpret in any way! ;)

well, I enjoy axeman works a lot, every now and then, nothing to compete here for me. now I am convinced its zero chances of earning any sbi units here. so i better head for it elsewhere. thank you, Damien.