Czech Republic, country with the highest number of castles per capita in the world!

Hi everyone,

If you follow my Travel Tip series regularly, you must have noticed I often promote castles and chateaus of my beautiful homeland, the Czech Republic.

To name a few, I have already showed you the Krivoklat Castle, the Bojnice Castle, the Hradec nad Moravici Castle and many more.

castle-1725481_960_720.jpg
Karlstejn Castle. Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

As you can see, we have many stunning castles and chateaus scattered all over the country but what you might not know is the fact that the Czech Republic is famous for having the highest density of castles and chateaus in the world. That is right – there are more than 2,000 of castles and chateaus found on the total area of the country which is just 79,000 sq km (30,500 sq mi).

czech-republic-2701167_960_720.jpg
Krivoklat Castle. Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

So once in the Czech Republic, the chances are there is always a castle to be found not far from you, no matter what region or city you are in.

The cool thing is that most of the Czech castles and chateaus are open to public, usually for a small fee. Many Czech castles also host impressive collections of artworks, museums, old furniture and other interesting artifacts.

You might also know that the Prague Castle, one of the most iconic landmarks of the city as well as the whole country, is the largest castle in the world, occupying a total area of almost 70,000 square m (750,000 square ft).

prague-castle-2819483_960_720.jpg
Prague Castle. Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

So if you are into castles, chateaus and other types of old architecture, you should definitely visit the Czech Republic ;)


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Hranice Abyss, the deepest underwater cave in the world!

ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - @schmidthappens in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Wednesday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!

30 SBD giveaway: Share your most romantic travel photo to celebrate the St. Valentine’s Day!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

I always follow some of your trip trips about places in the Czech republic. even i just wrote some interesting places in prague. I'm interested in writing it, because it's inspired by some of your trip trips :)

I feel flattered now... Thank you so much for your kind words... Tomas

Excellent pictures, all we have here in Honduras and the rest of Central America are the ruins of old Spanish forts, some of course in better shape than others, some people around here call them castles, but they have nothing in common with the magnificence of European castles.

I guess you are right but I am sure you have many other amazing places.... I hope I will be able to explore your county one day.... Have a good one. Tomas

I always thought Germany had more castles, but well it's also a bigger country.

there you go... there are countries with more castles as in numbers but not if taken per capita.... have a great night. Tomas

I remember visiting some of the beautiful Castles in Prague; the most beautiful I have ever seen in person. A young man overcharged me for the pleasure and was surprised when I noticed, lol! This was years ago and I lost the footage I had taken with my camera...it is sad to think of all the memories I have lost.

You should join us in my photo sharing contest of images from Prague and other various location within the country that I run daily....

If I had not lost my film I would. (this was before digital cameras were affordable, in the mid 90's) I did find some old film I never developed...I wonder if it would still work? Even if Prague is not amoung them there might be some finds.

Hey Tomas just want to drop by say Happy Lunar New Year to you guys :)

Hi! Thanks ever so much, the same to you!

Great post...
Thank for sharing information..

Great

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Amazing, I need to visit these places with such beautiful views .. good job making this beautiful place known

Excellent post! Visit my post and see what you think about this great tourist place that I shared. If you liked it, vote! regards

https://steemit.com/travel/@josegrojasl/cable-car-of-merida-cb5c87054b79

yes all the photos of castle that you had shared is really great and i like all.

Exclusive place...... thanks for post

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

wow.. nice places

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

thank you for info great post and pics.have a nice day

Hey! Checkout blog post on eSteem! esteem://good-karma/@wppw97/effort-and-prayer-b7a2ae63c313

So many beautiful castles. Definitely on my list of places to visit. If I ever get out of Alaska ;) Upvoted!

Traveling has always been my hubby ,finally I get to meet a fellow tourist like me on steemit
Cheers to us

What a spectacular publication, it is a wonder every photograph, the vegetation, its landscapes are something fascinating, it is a beautiful city full of magic.

excellent picture....travelling is most beautiful our mind...

Proud royal castles and lovely chateaus @czechglobalhosts. These are the places where the past comes to life. Karlstejn Castle is the most popular castle in the Czech Republic. Where the Czech crown jewels are displayed. Castles and Chateaus are greatest Czeh treasures.

I had no idea that that was the biggest castle in the world! That's so cool!

Wow! Czech Republic is more like an answered prayer to me. My desire has been to own a castle or even live in one, and discovering that a place like this has numerous castles, gives me great joy... Having one of those will be a dream come true!
Thanks @czechglobalhosts for making me see this, it just feels like I'm getting closer to my dreams!
I look forward to seeing more!

If its the biggest i am not sure..
Might be wrong but there is a big one in.Poland...but i guess it depends on the criteria

great pics

Waw.. amazing, thanks for information..