Stories from the past - part 3

in #travelvlog3 years ago

The years have come and gone and what's left are but memories of reality. I always understood that my reality may not necessarily be the same as those of others, but just yesterday after a talk with my father, that message was driven home, hard. The interpretation of mutually experienced events which occured in the past, will depend on the state of individuals during those periods of time and may wildly vary in their descriptions when retold some time in the future.

The memories in this journal, however, were written down fresh right after they occured, provide a very accurate representation of my experiences and Korea as it once was, since the country has undergone drastic changes since. These changes affected not only the landscape but large parts of the Korean psychie and culture.

image.png

"May 07, 2005
PUSAN
This weekend did not turn out as hoped for. It was raining Thursday, Friday and Saturday morning was left wet and the climbing rock soggy and not fit for climbing. Jo and I took advantage of the cold weather, jumped on our bikes and made our way to Pusan. My first visit. The ride there was great. It would have been even better if the weather was a little warmer, but I guess you make the best of what you got. I am learning that the hard way of late. Pusan. What a city. Really great. Right on the ocean. Its confusing as hell coming in and if it was not for my guide I would have gotten lost for sure. I have a habit of not really paying attention to where I am going with someone leading the way.

image.png

In any case. Pusan, as I have been told previously, is nothing like Ulsan. Even though Ulsan has its perks like the rock climbing, the city itself is not the most exciting one. Pusan has proven a refresher of a kind. Pusan, just as the rest of this country, is located amongst mountains. Streets going up and down, winding between buildings. We parked our bikes at the most famous Haeundae beach and made our way to one of the local Korean restourants, which always manage to bring a smile to my face, partially due to the great food and the way in which it is served and paritally due to the service. It never fails to amase me how enthusiastic some Koreans can be when seeing foreigners. It is not really unusual in a city like Pusan, which apparently has a thriving oil industry somewhere in the imediate neighbourhood, meaning that the influx of foreign engeneers is never ending and since it is claimed to be one of the most beautiful cities in Korea the tourists are plentyfull.

image.png

Still Jo and I have on one occasion been welcomed by a screeming girl, yelling "HI. Handsome!", while giving us the thumbs up, and a group of students who, in retrospect, seemed to have played rock paper scissors in order to decide which one of them was to come up to us and pose for a photograph. I guess one could look at these situations with mixed emotions. One could get angry. I have met people in the past who would loath this kind of attention. Being stroked around like some kind of rare zoo animal. That is pretty entertaining immagery. I take it all as good fun. Koreans are not a shy people, this goes for both men and women, and have no problems with yelling at us in the middle of a street or asking to have their pictures taken with a couple of different looking dudes. To tell the truth it feels kind of nice recieving this kind of attention at times.

I must appologise to a dear friend of mine, whom I may have made to sound as a bitter type when describing his unfullfilled tales of his expances in Korea. That was not the intention. He has been a great friend and we have had some crazy times together. Unlike some other people I have met since leaving Canada last year, he is, as am I, enjoying travelling for the very sake of travelling. Good travelling kind and a great drinking and smoking companion. May the traveling Budda always hold his sack for you...Financial gains are simply the neccecary and sometimes lucky by-product in this advanture. Always valued his point of views on life and travelling, which have genuinely improved life in certain aspects, and if not that, his sense of humour and the easiness with which he goes through life is always appreciated. The world is made. Cheers.

So with the exception of the trip to Pusan, this weekend was rather a flop in more than one aspects. No cliimbing done, unless the weather conditions allow for it tomorrow, and attempts at contacting the one girl that really matters right now have been completly unsuccesfull. Its difficult to maintain a long distance relationship, that I know from experience, what I am learning right now is that its virtually impossible to re-establish one from its ruins. We do what we can."

"May 08, 2005
CONFUSION IN ULSAN
Went climbing today after all. The morning started off with Jo and I striking out on a failed skii doo trip. The inviters failed to show. We called up Jodie and were on our way to the cliffs. The koreans do have a strange habit of yelling out YA-Ho from the top of the mountain, out onto the world below them. Today I felt like yelling YA-HO across the world myself. Maybe someone would hear my screems.

I dont really know what to make of a day like today. Travelling can be a lonely advanture at times. Ever since leaving Isabel back in Paris, a part of me has been missing. The inability to rekindle what we once had is putting me in a state of resign and occasional despair. I none the less am trying to keep things together. In a conversation with Jo I picked up on something. Dont really recall who said it, but it was mentioned that we are all running away from something. Made me wonder if that is true? Are all travellers running away from something? This question may be fit for a Sex in the City episode. Since coming to this city, I have met some people. Everyone seems to be here for a reason. I am not keeping any lists so dont really know what the reasons are for each and every person I talk to, and of course I do not go as far as to ask of every person what their reasons may be for being here. I guess I am trying to find some answers to my own reasons. In my case being here is a financial neccessity. Leaving Winnipeg with Isabel, we have decided on going to Tokyo. Seoul was an option with a friend living there and the ability to have a guided start, we chose Japan over Korea. Korea was not our first option. Many people I talk to seem to think that there really is not much to Korea. Besides the country sides, the hills and the mountains, Korea as such does not really have to offer things that other countries do not possess. Japan has a rich culture. The cities are filled with a strange mix of new and old, all under the same roof. Europe is filled with a vast variety of cultures and every country makes it possible for the visitor to enter into a completly different world. Korea really does seem to be filled with a concrete jungle slowly kreeping up from beneath the bushes. Perhaps one day most of the beautirull fields, forests and mountains here will be replaced by speedways and expressways, crossing and and zigzaking their way through the country. Perhaps that is what Korea has to offer, its nature and beauty before it dissapears. Kind of like what is happening to Tibet, or has been for the past several decades.

image.png

I have a tendency to be a scatter brain, most of the times. Always have been. Perhaps its a mild form of an attention deficit disorder. Perhaps its stress. Perhaps its a fear of not being able to get away from what I am running. Perhaps its a longing to find something, or to regain what I have lost. Whatever it is, thus is the life I have created for myself, and for you lovely people to read about. Perhaps this is my substitue for yelling YA-HO!; from the tops of mountains. I'd rather enjoy the quiet of the mountains and scream on paper with eloquence."

Sort:  

Hi @daemonic,
Great to see you using the #travelfeed tag! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps and more. We also offer many of the features you love on Peakd such as drafts and post scheduling. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)

cool. will check it out