My First Roman Treasure

in #treasure7 years ago

Surprised is just one word that came to mind when I was out today one of my best and oldest finds , I have only dreamed of finding here in Scotland .

Today I headed out to the lovely fields of Edinburgh where I have permission the sun was shinning and the leaves were falling . I always cycle when I go out detecting and enjoy the beautiful scenery as I make my journey to find treasure and it takes me about 30 minutes to get up there as its a very steep hill all the way but on the way back it takes me 10 minutes down the hill going at a high speed, so no pedalling required all the way home , brilliant .

As I made my way through the field to where I was going to detect , I lock my bike to a tree and set everything up , my first signal wasn't too great but I had high hopes so too my surprise it turned out to be a small coin and I had no idea it was Roman ! I didn't want to get my hopes up so I waited until I got home have it a clean and waw it was indeed a Roman coin .

Now some of you treasure hunters reading this may think Roman coins are found all the time but in Scotland they are scarce and rare especially where I live in Edinburgh there has only been 12 recorded Roman coin finds by metal detectorists in Edinburgh. 

I have contacted treasure trove Scotland and they are interested .

All my finds from that day are in the video at the top of the page .

Digging Scotland's Past.

Sort:  

Congratulations with your trouvaille!