Tree Tuesday: The Banyan Tree (Ficus benghalensis)

The banyan is the largest tree in the world when it comes to canopy covers. Andhra Pradesh in India has the largest banyan tree which covers 19,108 square meters, it is about 260 years old, 24 m tall and have over 2 500 aerial shoots.

20170821_103434.jpg

There are 750 species of fig trees and the Banyan tree is one of them and has strangler figs. It is native to India and is their national tree, it is considered sacred and is a symbol of long life. Many believe that it is an immortal tree due to its long lifespan.

20170821_103510.jpg

This tree is an epiphyte, grows off the branches of a host tree which they then later destroy. They have thin fibrous aerial roots that becomes like branches when they are firmly rooted into the soil. Nothing can grow under the shade of this tree.

20170821_103526.jpg

The tree provides lots of fruit which are edible. It has medicinal properties which help with irritations, swelling, diarrhea, nausea, rheumatism and stops bleeding. They make excellent Bonsais.


Image Credit

Sort:  

It is national tree of India and is termed as 'Kalp Vriksh' meaning Tree of wish Fullfillment. People worship the tree for its longevity and medicinal properties in Hindu mythology. According to Buddhist beliefs, Gautam Buddha attained Bodhi by meditating under a banyan tree and the tree thus holds tremendous religious significance in Buddhism as well.

Thank you very much for sharing this information with us, vinni1985.

I love trees! Upvote for your post!
If you want you can visit my perfil, and see my landscapes photos!!

Que fotos tan grandiosas, gracias por

Muchas gracias, me alegro de que te haya gustado.

Interesting. I had never heard of such a tree before. I also participate in the tree Tuesday contest. Take a look at my post, maybe you will also be interested to see my photos.
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@anna-mi/tree-tuesday-photos-from-the-heart-of-the-forest

Thank you anna-mi. I will take a look.

Wonderful post. Unbelievable that it is that old. It reminds me of the redwood forest and how much ancient energy is left with such old life forms. Thanks for the post!

Thank you, arqetype. I love the ancient, especially in nature.

if this tree exist in Indonesia, it would be the place to worship. Lol

@cherryblossom-sa very nice post have a good day ahead thankyou

Thank you very much saadhashmi. Hope yours will be a good one too!!

That is pretty cool. I love how trees just stay in existence for hundreds of years with one purpose. To grow.

I wish we all thought that way and shared that purpose as a huge community of humans.

I share your wish, colesia. Thank you.

very good post @cherryblossom-sa
I'm a newcomer in steemit. please help me develop my steemit account.
help me to upvote and resteem, please
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@magicbone172/hi-steemit-i-am-a-newcomer-help-me-to-develop-my-steemit

It's an impressive tree and at 260 years old it is a baby still. It seems kind of parasitic in nature. Many vines are like this. They kill the host tree.
Have you heard of the Olive trees in Lebanon? they are over 6,000 years old. ;) That's old? lol

Thank you for sharing this with me molometer, will go check it out. Yes, it is parasitic but I feel in a good way as it provides tons of food and shelter more than the host. Nature is absolutely amazing.

looking at the tree in the picture it looks like any other Forest tree to me that do not have any fruit or that can be used as medicine but at the end of you article i was like wow honestly Nice post and Thanks for sharing this wonderful information.