Tree Tuesday: Washingtonia filibusta

in #treetuesday7 years ago

20170831_103053.jpg

There are over 2 500 palm species in the world, size ranging from the small little love palm to 60 meters tall. In South Africa, we only have 5 indigenous palms: Raphia australis (Kosi Bay Palm), Phoenix reclinata (the Wild Date Palm), Jubeaopsis caffra(the Pondoland Coconut), Hyphaene coriacea(the Ilala Palm), Borrasus aethiopum.

20170831_103408.jpg

Palms are divided into 2 major groups based on their leaves, the fan-shaped leaves or the feather-shaped leaves; also two groups based on climate, hardened or tropical. These palms are evergreen and very adaptable due to their fibrous, compact root system. They are quite useful as they supply us with cane that can be used in platting furniture, baskets and mats; also with different kinds of fruit like dates, betel nuts and coconuts.

20170831_103420.jpg

Washingtonia Filifera (petticoat palm)

It is a hardened palm which is frost and drought resistant. The name derives from the dead leaves around the trunk which looks like a petticoat. Washingtonia Filifera can grow up to 35 meters tall and is native to the United States.

Washingtonia robusta (Mexican Fan Palms)

It is a very common palm, easily available, rapid growing and can be found in hardy areas around the world, reaching a height of 30 meters.

20170831_103355.jpg

Washingtonia filibusta

This is a hybrid of the species filifera and robusta (best of both worlds). It caught my eye because of its incredible height, the platted pattern on a section of its trunk and the dead leaves hanging down. The little town where I came across these palms was built around a hot spring.

The filibusta is an unintentionally made hybrid, an intermediate between the filifera and robusta (parent plants), it has a higher cold and heat tolerance and is faster growing.


Image Credit

Keep smiling, reading writing and voting!!

Sort:  

dam! those are nice palm trees! Great pics

Thank you very much cyberblock, they are more spectacular in real life than on these photos.

Excellent photos @crazymumzysa, I always thought that the palm tree is only of one species, now it's convinced that there are two :)

I knew there were a few but never came across this one. Thank you for your reply serkagan.

Would you be able to do a article on digenous and indigenous tree species in your country ?? would like to know

Yes, inferno4201, that will not be a problem at all. we have many trees but I can compile a list and maybe some thumbnail photos.

what a great post , i get very knowledge for your articale i am very thank's full to you

i am new here bro plz come see my blog and upvote me if you like :-)

wow, so beautiful palms! Here in my city there are just few palms, but I love them ^_^

Thank you silviabeneforti. We have a few around my area but not as tall and interesting as these ones I found at the holiday resort.

What an amazing article! I live in Canada and it's so cold here. Thank you for the education and your pictures are beautiful !

Thank you very much for your kind words advancehealth. I am blessed as my country is quite warm and I cannot imagine me surviving the cold of your country but I am sure you must have some amazing fauna and flora there.

It is always so nice to read about the different palms. When I see palms all over Hawaii I never think anything except palms. I am learning from your posts! Hope all is well. Thank-you @crazymumzysa for your wonderful post!

Thank you very much cabbagepatch. We have a few in some of the gardens around us in my area but not as beautiful and tall as these. I love them as they always remind me of the coast. Enjoy lovely week.

Wow, the first shot has quite an amazing one. Like tree amongst trees.

Thank you very much ace108. I loved the landscape of their gardens and will post some more photos on the different plants and trees of this resort.

You are welcome