Tree Tuesday: Shired Island Beach

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

Beautiful Salt-Washed Skeletons


Recently I took a trip up the west coast of Florida to the Lower Suwannee River Refuge for a drive along the scenic Dixie Mainline Trail. At the end of this route you reach Shired Island and after just a short walk out to the beach you're greeted by several of these beauties.

I wasn't really expecting to see these old dead trees on the beach but they were certainly a welcome sight! I really love the look and texture of old driftwood and these did not disappoint.

While there were only maybe 20 to 30 trees along the beach it sure did remind me of Boneyard Beach up in Jacksonville. If you've never seen that, check out this post I made about it 2 months ago: Adventures in Florida #9: Boneyard Beach on Big Talbot Island
photos captured with Canon 80D/18-135mm
all rights reserved

Keep an eye out for the full post on the Dixie Mainline Trail coming soon...

Thanks for stopping by, please upvote & resteem if you enjoyed this post



badge courtesy of @grow-pro


follow me @liberty-minded

until next time...

Sort:  

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

By the way, I did not mention this before but I also did the #treetuesday challenge :D, but it was like 2 months ago, this is my editing process...

https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@mariacherries/treetuesday-photo-dark-tree-sunshine-eng-spa

Now that I think about it, maybe it should have been for #SunThursday instead.....

Would've been a nice post for that!

I wonder how old could that tree be..
?

What a cool find I to love finding driftwood and dead trees like this

I know so many people are leaving to go to NZ, and you left NZ?! I'd love to hear your story if you're willing to share it. Are you on steemit.chat? Please join us in the #libertyprofessionals channel.

thanks @tattoodjay, didn't expect to see 'em!

Nice ones man! I love it!

Interesting shots! I used to see driftwood on the shores of Superior and Michigan, but an entire tree is a rare sight. Great framing on that second photo, in particular!

I find them really cool my friend! Their natural forms are just a pleasure to look at!
Lovely shots again!
@progressivechef

It's kinda sad in a way. Those dead trees depress me. I can never be far from a forest. I get depressed without one near. That's one reason I doubt I could ever live in Florida. There just isn't enough trees! haha

lol, if I walk back to my truck from there I'm surrounded by trees!

That makes me feel much better. haha

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post received a 4.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @liberty-minded! For more information, click here!