Trial by Comics winners for "Pencils" and new fundamental theme announced!

Thank you all for your patience in the Trail by Comics “Pencils” theme winners announcement! That’s a familiar way to start the contest results, sadly. I left for vacation just days after hosting @bonni. This week’s theme ended right in the middle of my trip and this has been the earliest I’ve been able to sit down and curate the entries. Thanks to @bryan-imhoff and @w0olf for helping to moderate the Trial by Comics Discord channels. “Whats that you say? Trail by Comics has a Discord channel?”. Why, yes, curious Steemian comic enthusiast, we do! Come join us! 


Before announcing the winners of “Pencils”, I’d like to thank @gvand for co-sponsoring the the reward pool for this week’s trial. @gvand is a regular contributor to Trail by Comics, and other Steemit art initiatives like @w0olf’s “Design a Character” contest. She single handedly sponsored the first and second place winners, which is no small feat at inflated SBD prices, so give her a follow, leave her a comment and a few upvotes for good measure.


Here we go. First place this week goes to a new combatant to the trials! @orenisme for his entry “TRIAL BY COMICS - PENCILS”. If you want to win the first place prize for this contest, show me outstanding comic art, and the entire process. I love seeing how other artists create their characters, story boards and panels. @orenisme did exactly that! Congratulations! 25.000 SBD to you!


Second place this week, goes to that ol’ sonuvabitch, @catapanoart for his entry “Trial by Comics : Shinobi’. I’ve loved @catapanoart’s pencil sketches since he first showed up here on Steemit. Long time fanboy, and I knew this week’s “Pencils” theme would pique his interest. Glad to see he stepped up to the plate and won some crypto. 10.000 SBD’s to you @catapanoart!


Third place goes @artwatch for her deliciously debaucherous entry, “A willing sacrifice (Trial by comics --- pencil sequentail pages)”. As a Magic: The Gathering fanatic, this almost looked like pages from a MTG comic, written by Glen Danzig, featuring Ob Nixilus and some hot piece. I won’t even begin imagining what’s in the bowl. Awesome sequential art, page design and story telling. 5.000 SBD to you!

I hate that I can only three winners. There is consistently so much good art in our community. Here are some of the other entries from incredible Steemit comic artists that all deserve a follow if you’re looking to fill your feed with brilliant creators!

@cryplectibles


@bronkong


@holcombart


@artistchristian


@cartoonistpandan


So what’s next? As I mentioned, we’re moving in to a three week comics fundamentals theme series. We’re starting with the essentials for comic book design. The new theme is “Inks”, and that’s exactly what it sounds like. This week's only requirement is that it’s inked! Traditional, or digital. Do yourself a favor and check out Jonathan Glapion’s Instagram. One of my favorite inkers of all time.  


Deadline for “Inks” is Sunday, February 25th 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. CTS 


Rules

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly]. 

• Original artwork only 

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme 

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in 

• Must include #trialbycomics hashtag [this is how we will find your entry]
 

If you’d like to sponsor this week’s Trial by Comics […or any week’s, really], please message me on Steemit chat. This contest reaches thousands of people each week and supports the thriving Steemit art/comics community. We’re looking for regular sponsors as well. Just be aware, sponsors can not participate in Trial by Comics.

That’s it! Start drawing and get those entries in by next Sunday. In the meantime, join the community discussion on our Discord channel. Contest news, art promotion and comics conversation! Thank you again, all of you, for making Trial by Comics such a success in a very short amount of time. For more comics, art and photography, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

How awesome is this! @artwatch ‘s piece omfg I love it!!!!💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕

Hello friends, hi @kommienezuspadt, first of all congrats to all winners,glad to see Trial by Comics runing again, so here is my first entry
https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@anonimous/hulkbuster-for-trial-by-comics
01.jpg

nice technic with the inking @catoonistpandan ..really love this type of comic stroke!!..awesome!!

Thanks bro.. :)

Another!
For this week’s Trial by Comics
IMG_20180216_015919.jpg
That inspired me to attempt a tattoo design - it is as inked as one can get
https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@artwatch/get-inked-step-by-step-trailbycomics

my entry, I just finished this today. Later I will use it in my comic, let me know if it doesn't qualify as "original" because of that

Inked1.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/trial-by-comics-contest-entry-theme-inked

Here's my entry: https://steemit.com/art/@artgirl/plankton-gets-the-secret-recipe

I hope to do another one. Wonder who I'll ink next. :D

Wow! This is such an honor. Thank you Kommie and congratulations to all the winners! 🙏👏😊

Good day again sir..I will have my entry again nevermind the other one due to some errors. here is it already
https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@morbyjohn/batman-or-my-art-of-the-day-or-entry-1-for-kommienezuspadt-trial-by-comics-contest
20180219_234955.jpg

nice and helpful post.thanks for sharing..@kommienezuspadt

nice and helpful post

nice post sir

Wow this is cool. So any drawing that's inked is fine? It should be an original character only? Any theme will do as long as it's inked?

Anything that's inked, @artgirl!

Ok got it. Lemme think what I would draw. Is it still okay if it has a bit of color after it's inked?

I would hold off on the color @artgirl. Next week may or may not be color, so you can maximize our time by holding off.

Ok thanks.

Fantastic comic! :) I want to see more of these :) Followed you :)

This is amazing drawing and art work nice job friend

Wow.. Amazing
very respect to your work. we both play in genre art, if you do not mind please give suggestion for my art blog :)

You do great work @mime. I'm following you now.

Amazing talent showcased here. I'll be watching for the next one for sure

The art community here on Steemit always astounds me @gringalicous!

Some awesome work for pencils week. Congrats to @orenisme and her super expressive character. I am super honored to place in this contest. Great job everybody! I may have to do ink week as well.

Thanks for joining us @catapanoart. Always a pleasure to have you participate in Trial by Comics!

These are pretty cool! So much talent on Steemit! :) how's your crypto comic coming along?

I totally agree @polebird! Yourself included! The book goes to print next Monday so this is my last weekend to work on finishing touches with @wcpublishing. Once it's on it's way to the printer, I'll be focusing on the comic full time.

These are sickkkkkkkkkkkkk

Yeah, @aldentan! We have so many phenomenal artists here on Steemit!

Had fun doing the "pencil" contest I'll have to enter the inking contest also.
Old inking example here :) https://d.tube/v/holcombart/fmgb9od3

Hope to see some of your work this week @holcombart!

this is the awesome post that I've seen in my life. I will vote for it that way "super" i follow you

Hi everyone,here my entry:
The Life-Giving Witch - Trial by Comics "Inks"

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@katari/the-life-giving-witch-trial-by-comics-inks

Hello Steemians!! Hi @kommienezuspadt This is my entry for comic contest drawing.

8.jpg

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@arelonz/trial-by-comics-blogger-life

Hello everyone this is my entry

Thanks sir..hope i have the time to take this challenge. :) congratulation to @orenisme and other participants.

Hi @kommienezuspadt and guys! I missed being here! My congratulations to the winners, and to the participants who always do a great job!

so.... This is my first entry :3
https://steemit.com/art/@gvand/trial-by-comics-justice-league-ink-pen

I have made a enty drawing for the new theme. Sadly i missed my chance to resteem this "Trial by Comics " because its 7 days back :/
But like always i promote it in my post!

Hope you like it anyways and maybe you can make a exception this time.

I call this drawing Inksplosion!
20180221_160308.jpg
orginal drawing

20180221_160323_20180221162255473_20180221164254235.png
digitaly colored

Heres is my Post with the individual work steps:
https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@bronkong/inksplosion-my-entry-for-trial-by-comics-ink

Hi guys, hi @kommienezuspadt here my entry
Watchmen - Trial by Comics “Inks”

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@katari/watchmen-trial-by-comics-inks

Here's my 2nd entry!!! Oh my. Did i make it in time? 😂
https://steemit.com/art/@artgirl/the-dark-side-of-hikaru-shidou

2JYFUIPZ064VFTJT2WyF.jpg

Woo! I'm sneaking in just under the wire! Here's my submission.
relics

Hi everyone, my entry number 3
UZUMAKI - Trial by Comics “Inks”

https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@katari/uzumaki-trial-by-comics-inks

sorry for the delay and thanks for your contest IMG_1576.JPG