TribeSteemUp's Weekly Gems ( Week of the 20th to the 27th January)

in #tribesteemup4 years ago
Authored by @trucklife-family

Hello beautiful people!

Welcome to another TribeSteemUp Curation, where I (@trucklife-family) get to showcase some of the great Articles that the tribe members created and that really embody what the Tribe stands for.

The TribeSteemUp community was created by @kennyskitchen. It is a Community Abundance Generator, which supports authors who write articles that look at ways in which we can become more empowered and create a more peaceful and free world.

The authors who have been chosen to become part of the TribeSteemUp community are all writing content of high quality, and they all focus on topics related to the bettering of life, such as:


| Anarchy | Non-Violence | Philosophy | Veganism | Mindfulness |
| Community Empowerment | Love | Original Music | Esotericism |
| Healthy Recipes | Psychedelics | Truth | Permaculture |

The TribeSteemUp community also has 8 Pillars/Principles that each member has agreed to adhere by and you can find The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp at the end of this post


We have some new members in the tribe, some wonderful new folk that have been creating really awesome content on the Platform and it is great to have them within our community. Today I have included some of their work. There is a total of 16 articles that are all about inspiring us and motivating us to become more aware in our daily lives. Life is all about learning, evolving and being mindful in all that we do. By coming together and engaging with one another we can all share our wisdom and empower one another. We can create the world in which we all wish to live. Happy reading and remember to show your appreciation by upvoting and commenting. You can go one step further by following the TribesteemUp Curation Trail, this way way you are supporting all the great authors who are creating quality content.

The Divine Vagina - Inspired by The Story of V


image.png

@bia.birch

I started to read, The Story of V: A Natural History of Female Sexuality, by Catherine Blackledge. While I am only 20 pages in, a profound paradigm shift has already taken root in my soul.
These words carry so much baggage in modern American society. Yet, this has not always been so. Blackledge explains.
Religion - a society's belief system - is always a contentious subject. And in looking at how different religions have regarded female genitalia in the past, I found the most polarized views possible.
On one side was the west, with its attitude of the vagina as the gateway to hell, the source of all trouble and strife in the world, and the potential downfall of men. Here the vagina was an object to be feared, ridiculed and loathed.


Non Violent Communication Workshop #1 - JOIN US!

image.png

@eco-alex

Welcome to this first workshop! We are looking at OBSERVATION and specifically listening to another person talking about something that upsets them. At this early stage your only job is to LISTEN and OBSERVE what the other person is saying to you. Once you have finished this entire workshop you will also be ready to respond, but for now I want to demonstrate something so important, that is the power of LISTENING!
Observations are simply the facts of a situation. What you heard someone say or what you saw someone do, without adding any evaluations or judgments.


"Fountain of Youth" - ~Euphoria!~


image.png

@creatr

"If there is magic on this planet, it is contained in water."
- Loren Eiseley
Hey there, friends... I'm feeling a little euphoric at the moment.
Why is that, you may ask? Well, you see, I'm engaging in a new behavior. I'm experiencing something brand-new to me. I'm in some sense taking a bit of a chance (but I think it's quite reasonable, though your mileage may vary) and I am doing something quite out of the ordinary. In fact, you may find this somewhat shocking:
Even as we speak, as I sit here writing this story for you,
I am breathing hydrogen.
Yes, you heard me right. Breathing hydrogen.


MDMA Inches Away From Becoming FDA-approved Pharmaceutical


image.png

@johnvibes

A set of clinical trials for MDMA, sponsored by the non-profit Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies (MAPS) has now reached “Phase 3,” which brings the substance just a few steps away from getting approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Only drugs that show promising results during Phase 1 and Phase 2 trials are considered for Phase 3 trials. According to MAPS, their Phase 2 trials involved 107 subjects with PTSD, and they saw incredible results from the study.

Building Freedom Cells & Mutual Aid Networks with Mindful Militants


image.png

@dbroze

Derrick Broze interviews Dave of the Mindful Militants regarding his activism, his work on Freedom Cells with the Mindful Militants, tips for building and maintaining freedom cells, and much more.


Learning to manifest physical health through the gift of creation

image.png

@nateonsteemit

Winter here is a time of setting intentions. Starting the year with a period of restful preparation while the world sleeps and does the same. It feels harmonious. As I've heard it put, "the best day starts with a good night's rest," and I think that can easily apply to a year, or any cycle you choose.
My biggest intention this year is to learn and manifest as much as I can about healing. The title of this post is a mantra or theme that I'm keeping in mind and meditating on daily. Learning to manifest physical health through the gift of creation.
In our pastor's first sermon of 2020, he mentioned that he wants our church to focus on deep healing, specifically calling out cancers and chronic pain. This has been heavy on my heart since then, as those two things have consistently come up in all my learnings of farming, food, nature, permaculture, and natural medicines.


Resistance, Non Violent Communication and A Solo Mom Drama


image.png

@artemislives

I confess I have resisted anything to do with Non Violent Communication training for almost 20 years. Why? You'll have to watch my short video to understand that.
But even my first exposure to the 4 week FREE online Non Violent Communication workshop has already begun to change me, and to transform the way I relate to my 15 year old daughter. We have a great relationship, or so everyone tells us. But we certainly could be gentler with one another. As I often remark to her, we are a 2 person family, like a 2 wheeled bicycle - one wheel wobbles and the whole darn thing crashes.


Ecotrain QOTW: Should we judge other people according to our own values...


image.png

@revisesociology

The short answer is no, this is not a smart way to live. Best to simply aim for treating all beings with compassion irrespective of how they treat us.
One can still make it very clear through one's actions what one's own moral standards are without judging others by one's own self-determined standards.
For example, one may lead a low impact, peaceful, vegan lifestyle without ever speaking ill of people who rather lead violent, high consumption lifestyles.
It is also possible to explain why one thinks low impact/ peace are better than high consumption/ violence without pointing one's finger at any particular person.
Personally I think this is one of the most positive uses people can be making of blogs and social media - to publicise/ explain the values behind one's actions.
This can all be done without pointing the finger at specific people who manifest different values to one's 'self'.


Can't You Just Let Me Be Selfish!


image.png

@trucklife-family

Why is it far more socially accepted to run ourselves into the ground, rather that take that same amount of time to connect with ourselves. To embrace and honour ourselves. To actually check in with how we are doing each day. Because a little TLC goes a long way.
it made me want to go out and reclaim the term selfish and remove the negativity that goes with it. Of course there are times when we need to be selfless, to put others first so that we can support them.
But how can we ever support them fully, if we are not firstly supporting ourselves. Being selfish is part of becoming selfless.
I think what it really boils down to, is that I don't really believe that we should have any negative innuendo attached to the word self.
We should be only using the term in a positive way, so that we can promote more self awareness, more self growth.
That the idea of focusing on Self is only seen in a positive light. Words are powerful, mainly because we give them power, by the intentions that we set with them. It is up to use how we use them.


Why I love Hare Pose: Breathing Into The Spine [How Yoga Helps My Asthma]

image.png

@riverflows

We breath, on average, about sixteen breaths a minute. Even when we are still, we are in motion - the lungs fill with the air, the intercostal muscles stretch, the diaphragm moves and life force flows through us, oxygenating every cell in our body with vitality. Yet we often see yoga postures (known as asana) as quite static - a locking in of alignment, a show of muscular strength and flexibility, a stacking of joints, a lubrication of fascia. Without breath, we simply cannot be doing true yoga - an alignment or union of body, mind and breath.


Why This Lifelong Environmentalist is 97% Sure That "Climate Change" Is A Scam


image.png

@kennyskitchen

Often in conversation with people that I find knowledgeable & aware on SO many topics, the overly-simplified debate around "climate change" is the E-brake, bringing a screeching halt if those folks are the kind who get emotionally attached to their beliefs (as most people are.) This same topic, and my strong disagreement with the mainstream story of it, has led to many hours of note taking, video sharing, and non-stop questions for those who enjoy the search for truth, wherever it leads.
For most of my life, I definitely leaned towards the deep green end of things. Highly anti-capitalist, essentially authoritarian (I definitely had ideas about "If things were just run like this instead"), and effectively anti-life.
I spent many bits of my early childhood with my dad, out near the Oregon Coast, spending our time hiking, sitting by rivers, and soaking in nature. He taught me that the only way to go "hunting" was with a camera, that we should care for the animals & environment around us, and that there's really nothing better than time spent in nature.


Inviting the Yin through food - my new diet and habits :-D


image.png

@whatamidoing

Two days ago I found myself with some pretty serious tooth pain. This is unusual, as I usually am pretty unaware of any cavities I have until I see a dentist. The idea of going to a dentist or doctor never sits well with me. I always like to see if I can fix it first. I will probably see a dentist at some point about this, but rather than just getting a quick fix and filling the cavities up, I'm using this as motivation to fix a lot of bad habits I have.
I am quitting excessive amounts of sugar.
I am quitting excessive amounts of caffeine and shitty soft drinks.
I am taking a one month break from alcohol.

Any Road Will Take You There


image.png

@metametheus

Meditations on plurality and poly-culturalism
If you don't know where you're going,
Any road will take you there.
— George Harrison
A couple of years ago, I found myself repeatedly embroiled in dialogues on other social media platforms with people who hold and express views that I can only describe as ‘dogmatic’. This was in many fields: sexuality, marriage equality, the “gender wars”, religion, politics… and so on and so forth. It actually is the reason I took myself away from one particular platform which shall remain nameless.
Basically, think of any ‘trending’ topic, and there would be no shortage of tools who can not engage in debate because they believe that their way is The Right Way; and usually, the only way.


Hard To Bet Against Steem Right Now

image.png

@taskmaster4450

It is a very exciting time in the world of Steem. What is really amazing is to see how the ideas many people have are starting to come to fruition.
This is what happens, over time, when a number of people are working on projects . It often seems things are not going anywhere and we are going in a thousand different directions. Yet, that is exactly where the power resides.
One of the most recent revelations is the fact that @threespeak is seeking to become a platform itself. According to @theycallmedan, in a couple of interviews, he said that 3Speak is going to be a hub for video creators. The goal is to give them tools to become their own community. The goal of the SPEAK token is for it to be used throughout the entire ecosystem. People are encouraged to create their own video hubs which will be integrated with all else that is there.


Fasting Journal, Day Six - What to Expect After the Fast


image.png

@stortebeker

Punk Fast as a Teenage Rebellion
There are many different types of fasts. Some come from a religious, others from a medicinal background. Some last only a day, others over a month. As it turns out, I created my own fast back as teenager, which I called punk fast later on, when I learned what constitutes fasting and what doesn't.
As a fifteen-year old I had a bit of a weight problem. For my 169 cm (5' 6") height, I was pushing 90 kg (198 lbs), or may even have surpassed it. It doesn't matter, I was fat, simple as that. And I was getting quite tired of it. So in spite of the best advice I was given (none of it had to do with fasting) I decided to stop eating for a while. A week was always my goal, but I never made it past five days.


How Can I be Helpful?


image.png

@nainaztengra

At one point of time in my life I was always feeling very frustrated, I was always confused as to what is it that I want to do in life. Questions like "What does life want from me? What will make me Happy? What will make me feel better? would keep popping up. I was never in the moment, would never feel happy with what I would be doing. Always in search of something. Felt like there was always an empty space within me. I would experience a lot of anxiety and have a feeling of separation, it was like I was there but not there. Anything that I would do seemed very meaningless to me.

A big thank you to @hungryhustle for creating the amazing infographic of the 8 Pillars Of TribeSteemUp and For @eco-alex for creating the tribesteemup banner and logo.


pillars.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Great job everyone - keeping it fresh. Some wonderful content here. Shared to my twitterfeed #POSH


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Ohmyworddddddd.............! What an amazing collection of posts - I'm bookmarking all of them to read later! Curations like this really highlight how many vibrant, forward-thinking, conscientious and INSPIRING minds there are here on Steemit - and how much positive action is being taken and initiated by them. Thank you for sharing 💚💚💚

I'd love to be a part of this community if it were possible, I think some of my posts are in line with your interests.

Anyways, off I go to read about vagina 😁