Kea island, my favourite escape from (burning hot) Athens (part 2)

in #trip2 years ago


In the previous part I had just made my first steps out of Ioulis town continuing on a cobblestone path that generously offers vies like this:
DSC_0095.JPG

DSC_0096.JPG

DSC_0097.JPG

The gate to the local cemetery is not so fancy but who cares with a view like this:
DSC_0098.JPG

Something to care about is the following one though:

DSC_0100.JPG

It's all Greek to you but no worries cause I'm as Greek myself: This is a water spring made of marble in 1928. Back then one could just stop and drink pristinely clean water. Almost a century later there's this pathetic sign on the faucet reading that "water is not drinkable". The cannibalisation of natural resources in one picture. This happened mainly due to the extreme use of nitrogen fertilizers from farmers who believed that they could increase their harvest just by increasing the fertilizers infinitely. And I am not sure I should use past tense - some might still believe so.

That view though...
DSC_0101.JPG

This is where I am walking to - hard to tell from far but there's a lion rock sculpture in the middle:
DSC_0102.JPG

Fortunately the path has bits of shade to escape the merciless sun for a while:

DSC_0103.JPG

In the next one you can see the lion on the right if you want to take your eyes off the beautiful sea view:
DSC_0105.JPG

I like the contrast of this white temple:
DSC_0106.JPG

The view shouldn't be missed from any possible angle:
DSC_0107.JPG

DSC_0109.JPG

Interesting rock formations on my way:
DSC_0111.JPG

At the look of this fig tree I rush to have a break under its shade:

DSC_0112.JPG

Though I was already more than thankful to it for protecting me from the penetrating summer sun I was more than happy to find out that it makes my favourite kind of figs - the black ones! I managed to find a good one and it was one of the best I've ever tried - you can't beat a fresh fruit right off the tree. Here's the leftovers of its gold (in taste and looks) meat:
DSC_0113.JPG

Time to enter the site of the Ancient Lion:
DSC_0114.JPG

DSC_0115.JPG

The way down there is very steep:
DSC_0116.JPG

But soon gives you a view from the top to the local attraction:
DSC_0117.JPG

Doesn't look that much as a lion from the back:
DSC_0118.JPG

It does so from the front though:
DSC_0120.JPG

DSC_0121.JPG

At least if you think of it as a cartoonish version of a lion. It's unclear whether it was shaped like this by the weather over the years or someone made it look like that but interesting to see in any case especially if you plan to watch the sunset from this spot.

I'm far from sunset time so I enjoy the rest of the view around:
DSC_0123.JPG

DSC_0122.JPG

Neglection and beauty are not rare around here:
DSC_0124.JPG

Funny touch on this old door:

DSC_0125.JPG

Feeling like I had enough beauty and heat already (mainly the latter) I decide to ride up to my favourite beach to cool things down (see video later for the ride). So, here I am at Otzias beach:
DSC_0126.JPG

Unfortunately it's the peak of the season and the first short of free year after the COVID madness so it's crowded like never before but still remains a paradise to enjoy:
DSC_0131.JPG

DSC_0130.JPG

After some wonderful swimming moments I'm lying under the trees for a while to dry and rest:

DSC_0127.JPG

DSC_0128.JPG

Goodbye Otzia, see you next time:

DSC_0129.JPG

The nearby beach of Gialiskari is also wonderful and worth a stop:
DSC_0132.JPG

If this is not a great view point there's something wrong with your eyes or your taste:
DSC_0134.JPG

DSC_0135.JPG

DSC_0133.JPG

Who's hungry? Definitely me so time to enjoy the goodies of the local bakery:
Mushroom pie

Spinach pie

I still have time to kill till the ferry takes me back so I find some shade from my iron horse:

DSC_0144.JPG


And of course for myself as well:
DSC_0140.JPG

In case you are wondering I am at Vourkari:
DSC_0141.JPG

DSC_0142.JPG

I couldn't have a better umbrella than this:

DSC_0145.JPG

DSC_0143.JPG

Back at the port, a ship has died, a speed boat is still alive and a church waits to see the sunset:
DSC_0147.JPG

Last images of Kea while I am on board waiting to depart:
DSC_0149.JPG

DSC_0148.JPG

As we start moving I take some more now that the light of the sun is more sweet:
DSC_0152.JPG

DSC_0153.JPG

DSC_0150.JPG

DSC_0151.JPG

Feel free to caption this if you want:
DSC_0154.JPG

Wanna watch a summary of the clips I shot during the trip? Be my guest:

Thanks for stopping by, see you in my next one!

Sort:  

I want the pie and the red boat!

You mean the red ferry reading "GOUTOS LINES"? I'm with you on the colour but nothing else is attractive about it. Of course as a birthday gift I wouldn't say no ;)
The bakery I tried was such a nice discovery (thank you Google Maps). I super appreciate when owners of such stores show respect for other people's stomachs. When the oil in a pie is OK then you know they pay attention.
Thank you once again my super fan!