The HIVE Tour - Episode 50 - Visiting the Acropolis (?) of racing @ Le Mans

in #trip10 months ago

Much less people around the globe would know Le Mans if it wasn't for its worldwide famous 24h circuit and I couldn't leave the city without visiting the place where the heart of racing beats:
DSC_0120.JPG

Spoiler: I'm not gonna enter the race track, I'm here to get a few things for the boutique and see how it looks like.

I arrive at this parking lot after the recommendations of the lady at the reception:
DSC_0121.JPG

As you can see it's a beautiful day and from here I can see the entrance of the boutique and musseum in the distance:
DSC_0123.JPG

More importantly, I can see the oldtimer car that I spotted earlier on the road (see video later):
DSC_0122.JPG

Yep, it's that white beauty in the distance next to the also white BMW. That sugar coloured Morgan made it all the way from UK:
DSC_0124.JPG

DSC_0125.JPG

DSC_0126.JPG

DSC_0127.JPG

Time to step closer to the venue:
DSC_0128.JPG

DSC_0129.JPG

DSC_0131.JPG

DSC_0130.JPG

I go straight to the boutique and see what souvenirs I can buy. Take "can" as literally implying how affordable they are as (unsurprisingly) they are overpriced. Some are good looking stuff though:
DSC_0133.JPG

DSC_0134.JPG

Especially their leather collection - I die for leather and some of them make me drool effortlesly:
DSC_0136.JPG

DSC_0135.JPG

DSC_0137.JPG

I grab a sticker and a T-shirt when... I realise that actually Le Mans is celebrating the centennial of its 24h circuit: 1923-2023! Not a bad timing though unintentional 🙂

I go to check out and the girl behind the desk tells me something in French as I hand her the t-shirt. I ask her in an apologising tone if she speaks English and she gives me a "go figure" face peppered with a bit of demean. She leaves the desk and comes back later with another same shirt in a package. We exchange smiles and I step out where I step on the queue of the museum:

DSC_0138.JPG

I hate queues so that's a goodbye for me. Last shots before I jump back on my bike:
DSC_0139.JPG

DSC_0141.JPG

As I drive behind the race track (South side) I see this "Porsche hill"
DSC_0142.JPG

It looks a bit like a 4x4 trial but I'm actually clueless about its use, other than advertising the German brand.

I move on to make it back home:
DSC_0143.JPG

Now take a deep breath and see how that sticker I bought looks just after I stick it on my bike:
DSC_0145.JPG

Yes, all the wear and faded colours you see where done while it was just shitting in my wallet for those few minutes of my ride back to the place I stay. Quality? What quality?

The shirt doesn't feel that much of better quality but I hope it's gonna last a bit more:
DSC_0147.JPG

And I also hope the weather will soon allow me to wear it.

The following 4K video is me riding around and since it has the raw sound with a bit of noise reduction on the loud sections keep the volume low if you wear earphones:

Le Mans time is running out. Where do I go next?

See me in the next episode and find out 😉

Sort:  

Nice find! That classic car looks so timeless and spotless too. Any idea how much it costs to hit this Le Man track?

This car was driven by an old couple. They had a smile from ear to ear to be there :)
No idea about Le Mans race track charges but I guess their site can answer that.

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 15