Buy Assets that Produce Income!!

in #triptolemus6 years ago

When it comes to investing, I’m a big proponent of Warren Buffet’s strategy of looking for assets that produce income.

I heard Buffet say this in an interview a few years ago and I’ll never forget it:

He said (in my paraphrase) that you ought to buy assets that produce an income. Investing in assets that don’t produce an income is risky business.

When you buy an asset that produces no income, then it becomes pure speculation. You’re speculating that somebody else will be willing to pay you more for that asset at some future date. It’s like buying a piece of art.

Now, if you’re on Steem and reading this, then you obviously invest into crypto. Most cryptos are the ladder type of assets - they don’t produce an income.

I’m not completely against investing in cryptos that don’t produce income (like Bitcoin, for example), but I am aware that it is speculation to invest in them.

I’m invested in Bitcoin, but I look at it as a speculative play and thus, it’s not my largest position out there.

When I look at STEEM though, it’s a completely different story. With STEEM, you can earn interest and you can earn a sort of “dividend” through your STEEM POWER.

STEEM is an asset that produces an income AND has the incredible upside potential of other cryptos like BTC.

The upside of STEEM is multi-fold, and I’ve talked about this a lot in the past. STEEM is, in my opinion (and this is not financial advice by the way) the best investment to make in the whole space of crypto - and beyond.

Although STEEM doesn’t come without any risk, I see the risk as being quite low. Many of my close family and friends have joined the Steem platform and bought a tiny bit of STEEM and powered up, but they’re still very skeptical.

I understand the skeptics, but you have to understand the technology and the development. My friends/family are always texting me and are worried because the price did this or the price did that.

I always have to just remind them that this is a marathon, not a sprint. Steem’s technology is constantly being improved upon and there are new DApps that are constantly being developed on the Steem platform.

There’s over 1 million accounts now which is absolutely insane.

With HF20, signups are going to become extremely easy and we’re going to see a whole new level of user on boarding - I’m sure of it.


Do you believe STEEM is one of, if not the best, crypto investment out there?


Sort:  

You got a 53.06% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @triptolemus!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 40.38% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @triptolemus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Steem might be the next big thing one internet. It all depend on the community supporting the project.

Posted using Partiko Android

I own some steem like maybe 300 so if i send them t my steem account what can i do with it? And what does hodling do for me

I've got verge when it was below a penny. It went to 8 cents before I droped it. After riding 20 cents. I hope to find something like that again.

W0w

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing these insights, I agree 100% and I'm sure the other 999,999 Steemian's agree too!

Absolutely right and steem grow more and more

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely right and steem grow more and more

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes @triptolemus you're right this is only cryptocurrency which will gives guarantee return and this is cool place for investor it will beneficial for long term investors to earn pretty amount form Steemit

@triptolemus, you are absolutely right. I have dealt with STEEM for not so long, around 6 months only, and I think its a great investment considering the various things that you can use to do with your steem power, sbds and steem as well. Smartsteem has already launched a platform(now smartsteem 2.0) that we can use to start out on investment with STEEM as the cryptocurrency. Thanks for the thoughtful and wonderful post. I am also borrowing the Warren Buffet's quote you highlighted in the post. Thanks again.

Very well written article about buying an asset that provide an income and so very true. I do agree that steemit is one the best investments to have in the world of crypto.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

@triptolemus completely agree with you and prefer Steem over bitcoin I believe Steem can grow 100 times from here but BTC no chance now. Also dividend BTC is never going to pay that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @triptolemus! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

"Buy assets that produce income." Now, that is some good investment advice! 😃

haha thank you!! That's my favorite thing about investing - focusing on the income yield of your investments rather than the principal movements!