Distill the Most Important Things that You Have to Do

in #triptolemus6 years ago (edited)

In a society that’s filled with all sorts of trivial distractions, it can be extremely difficult to cut through the noise and do the things that you want to do, the things that you need to do.

“There is never enough time to do everything, but there is always enough time to do the most important thing.” - Brian Tracy

Sitting down to read and write every day is a habit that I’ve built into my daily routine.

I’ve acknowledged that these 2 hits are 2 of the most important things that I need to do each day. That’s why they are the first 2 activities I do each morning.

I don’t wait till the end of the day. I don’t wait till the middle of the day. I don’t wait until I’ve checked my email. In fact, I keep my phone averted from my eyes so that I can’t get any distracting notifications.

If you bow down to the information society that we live in, then you will find yourself constantly immersed in notifications and distractions.

If however, you find those few important things to do each day and then make sure that you do them, then you can also enjoy some time later on in the day for notifications, friends and other distractions.

This all comes down to knowing yourself and being able to root out the priorities in your life.

If your aim is to be better - to grow and to learn each and every day, then you must know how to distill the most important activities every day.


I’m the kind of person who loves to do things and be busy. I love to work on new projects, new art forms, new crafts, etc.

A great example of this (and a great opportunity for me to put a plug in here) is my new podcast that I’ve started on Steem.

I’ve posted 2 of them so far (1 to DLive and 1 to Dtube) and they are rough beginnings but I slowly and surely I will improve.

I’ve made it a priority in my life to get better at these podcasts. It’s one of the several things that I focus on each day.

I make sure however that I’m not focusing on too many things. There are many things in my life that I just have to say no to. I have to tell friends that I can’t hang out with them for days and even weeks on end.

Now don’t get me wrong. There’s a risk of burnout here, but that comes back around to self-awareness.

If you’re aware of your own limitations and your own capacity for the trade-off between work and play, then you won’t burn out. You’ll be able to burn the candle right to the edge - right to the point where it’s about to burn out and then you’ll be able to cut it off, take a vacation or hang out with your friends and recharge.

Ever heard the term less is more? It’s always better (in my opinion) to do less of everything and more of the most important things.

Try putting this idea into practice by cutting the list of things you have to do today in half and then choosing only the most important ones to do. Let me know how that goes for you!



Sort:  

well, you're telling the truth when you say that people have to choose the important things in live, that's a tricky question, because it goes right with your best interest at that moment.

Maybe, today your biggest interest is making money, so, you organize all your life around that goal.
Or maybe your biggest interest is lost 5 pounds, so you should organize your life in order to obtain that result.
and so on...it's important to clarify your interest and think about what do you really want. Then, go with everything to reach that.

@triptolemus lets face up this situation, every body learn from their bad situation to became a successful

Absolutely!! We all have to become better versions of ourselves in order to enjoy success!

Hmm... It's all about changes, you are right ...

IMG_20180821_224124.png

You got a 26.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @triptolemus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 50.12% upvote from @upme thanks to @triptolemus! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Woow, biotyfull

Did you try putting this idea into practice!!

Everyone faces these situations

I totally agree!! It's important to gain experience so that you can better face such situations in the future!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

how can I quickly learn English ..

I recommend Duolingo!! Ive used it for learning languages many times!

We all face this type of situation

I agree, distractions are EVERYWHERE!!!!

Started down that road many years ago. By simply stop being greed focused and always wanting more and so on, the important things became the only focus. This allowed us to change our lifestyle in a big way, and is how we live today..

I really like your post and read whole learning for also my skills improving thanks dear give you upvote

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Most welcome dear

What is glass no.

Im sorry I don't understand?

Notifications ruin your creativity. Turn off the phone and do your thing ☻

Absolutely agree, I always keep my phone off for my peak working hours!!!