You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM is still not Steemit, even if Tron buys Steemit.

in #tron4 years ago

Hey lukestokes, i was wondering if its possible to guide or point me in the right direction to information that breaks down the differences of steem, STEEM, and steemit. I have a very general basic understanding but would like a more detailed explanation.
will do my own due diligence, would appreciate tools you have used.

Sort:  

The post I linked to first is a good start.

Here's how I understand it:

STEEM: The Steem cryptocurrency
Steem: The Steem blockchain (or the code, protocol, or running mainnet, depending on context)
Steemit: One of two things:

Steemit, inc: The company who launched Steem and primarily develops the Steem protocol and owns...
Steemit.com: The primary browser of the Steem blockchain. There are many others, but most conflate Steemit.com with Steem, when really they are different. Steemit.com is just a centralized website run by a centralized company using a decentralized blockchain (of which they do happen to have a large, centralized stake of tokens which apparently they just sold to the Tron foundation).

Appreciate it, i know its just surface info but it gives me reference point of where and what to look for. This way it doesn't feel like I'm traveling down a rabbit hole.