Did You Know There Was A Massive Holocaust In So-Called "Canada"?

in #truth7 years ago


(6:34)

I'm ashamed to admit I went most of my life in complete ignorance, and prejudice. I'm hoping I can right my wrongs by sharing the knowledge I have gained in my later years.

Most so called "Canadians" are absolutely clueless about the true horrors and atrocities committed to the Indigenous people of Turtle Island (the actual name of the land we live on). It is all due to the fact that the genocide, the purposeful death of millions and millions of beautiful people, is hidden from us in our schooling. School likes to make it seem like it was a war. A fair fight.

Nothing could be further from the truth...

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. The stereotypes you speak of in Canada is exactly the same in Alaska. A lot of people are raised to think that way. It makes me sad how negative people are when everything was taken from the Native people. The last generation of elders who lived before alcohol was introduced is dying now. I am afraid the people will totally forget. Now that the old umma and uppas are not around to tell their stories of their land before alcohol destroyed their villages. What they teach ALL kids in school about it is wrong. Our school system does a great job teaching kids to be prejudice assholes.....

Thank you so much for listening to the video. Your words have given me goosebumps...as you truly understand the greater picture. We have to keep speaking the truth, to our children, and decolonize as best we can in our own lives...

I'm glad to see people discussing this!
I never knew of this until I watched a documentary about it some months ago. We have to remember the mistakes of our ancestor so we do not repeat them. A great video. Thank you.

Yes, practically the whole planet has now been colonized this way...some genocides are happening right now before our eyes! Colonialism kills.

Do you remember the name of the documentary you watched?

It's called Canada's Dark Secret. It focuses mostly on residential schools.

Thank you very much, I will watch this, and share it with my older child too!

That scary moment...when you start to look at it from the other end of the spectrum.

Yes, know better...do better, right? I was deprived of education on these matters until the great internet, and searching for truth there. I'm grateful we have this resource at our fingertips, and I teach my children what I know, so they are not bamboozled by the school system as I was.

Thanks for reading/watching Dillon!

Also talking to people from around the world..on places such as steemit, and hearing certain perspectives of things...Im duel citizen U.S. and Canada...and looking back at moments that make both the countries proud is kind of like, "eh...should we be telling 3rd to 6th graders this as a good thing?" You are welcome. .great post and great thinking

You are so right! The way this genocide is celebrated as a "discovery of a new land" is so sad... :'(

That's cool though that you are a Canadian and US citizen, I'm so happy you are awake and aware of the truth of our countries politics and that you are also setting the record straight, and speaking the truths you have found!

Thank you for resteeming this, you are pretty awesome, and bold!

Thanks for your vlog lyndsaybowes. I have moved to Canada only recently and it's interesting to see how pretty much every 'white' nation has it's dark side. I come from Belgium and our 'dark' history which we don't really speak about or face is what Leopold the second did in Congo to make himself (and Belgium) rich. It also reminds me of the BLM movement and how they say that history must be remembered rather than to be told to "just get over it". We definitely need to re-investigate our economic and political systems from the perspective of 'equalizing' the playing field, not just by throwing some funding towards 'minorities' but mostly through properly providing in-depth education so everyone has a holistic understanding of why and how our society is the way it is.

Yes, you are so right, colonialism is a worldwide plague, there has been no rock left unturned now by Empire. We see this in the jungles and rainforests, where Indigenous are dying to protect the little unspoiled land that they have left. Empire is eating the world alive, all in the sake of monetary profit, with no regard. Welcome to this land, and I'm so happy to have you here, another light to shine the truth, and help others see, as you put: A holistic understanding of why and how our society is the way it is. Much Love!

Thanks for shining some light, I had no idea of this and it saddens me that such tragic events are left unheard of and the fact that the schools decide to not speak anything about the atrocities committed by the settlers speaks many truths of how biased schools are and that they should not be trusted. Any institution that does not cover such important subjects should not be trusted because they are biased and that makes people become less independent in thought. Bias diverts people from the truth and creates mental filters that blind us of our true human nature. I think there should be advocacy for teaching the truth of history in schools without bias and children should be taught to question everything especially those who have already tricked us into forgetting the true history. That might sound like telling a known thief to simply be honest and stop stealing from people, but if it is done in the open (for example with an open letter) and publicly on a global scale (with the internet) for all to see, then they will at least be honest in their denial and they will expose themselves to what they truly are. I hope to see this not only in Canada but worldwide

Yes, bang on @gamagoro, and I believe that us truth sayers, on social media, and in our personal lives, are this open letter, especially on Steemit, where everything is on the Steem blockchain forever. The more voices rise up, the less the so-called 'powers that be' can control the flow of information!

You got my upvote! Preach on sister.

Thank you very much Don! I will preach on for sure!

Stay strong sister! As you are on the decent side which few (if any) have the courage to publicly debate!

Ignorance and silence is their strengths, which is why they fear people like yourself!

Big CHEERS for what you do @lyndsaybowes set_leonardo_dicaprio_cheers.gif

Thank you so much for the encouragement and support, I'm so happy to have found you here, it's great to have allies in this world, where so many are still plugged in. Every time we speak I have resonated with what you are saying. Thank you so much for being the CHANGE!!!!! You rock @lecrazycanuckeh! Thank you for being so aware and well informed!! You are a gem!

Never knew this happened!

Thanks for taking the time to listen Mark <3