You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When does a myth become truth Pt7 - The Underground City of Derinkuyu. - Cappadocia - Turkey.

in #truth7 years ago

@tremendospercy After a long day, I finally get the opportunity to sit down and absorb the fountain of knowledge that's contained in this post. Your words are like a comfort blanket of enlightenment and I've really enjoyed wrapping myself in this one :) To look at the feat of engineering on display here, it would seem that this excavation would have taken far too long and attracted far too much attention to be simply a hide out from invaders and wars. It's almost too meticulous and appears to hint at the possibility they were planning for a certain event? I've believe there is some evidence of a massive tunnel network that stretched across Europe and indeed into Turkey. I think it's been said that they could be as much as 12,000 years old. Could there be some connections? I don't know but this post has inspired me to look into it some more. As always great work and thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

I agree the idea of this place and others like it are unlikely to have been built merely for shelter from invasion. A more cataclysmic scenario is where my mind has been going since I first learned of the site. It's interesting you mention a tunnel network that crossed from Europe into Turkey as I've heard snippets of that however not really dug into it. Something profound occurred to inspire people to go underground in such numbers, but what?
With each investigation into these ancient sites I come out with more questions than answers. Frustrating but fascinating. Thanks for reading and commenting dude.