How to fix Keyboard Chattering (Double tapping)

in #tutorial2 years ago

image.png

Photo by SteelSeries

I've recently bought a new mechanical keyboard that seems to have a problem. It double taps the t, m and a keys, and I've searched the internet on how to fix this problem and here are the fixes I've found:

  1. Clean the switches with Alcohol (be sure to disconnect the keyboard and wait for the alcohol to evaporate) this might be the best solution, I didn't do this as I do not have a keycap puller.

  2. Replace the faulty switches with new ones.

  3. Fix it from the software. As I am using linux here are the commands I've used in the terminal:

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.a11y.keyboard bouncekeys-enable true
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.a11y.keyboard bouncekeys-delay 50

What this does is to enable bounce keys, that ignores repeated presses in an interval of 50ms. You could try lowering the delay to something lower if this annoys you.

And here is a tutorial from Microsoft on how to enable it on Windows.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @andreistalker.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more