Registration Tutorial: Heads Up! EOS Token Registration to be done by June 2 2018

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to be really honest here and say I don't really know much about EOS aside from it being an ETH and Steemit competitor. Crypto just isn't my thing and what I know about it I only know from what people tell me.

Trusted sources who know what they're doing have raved about EOS and that is basically why I invested in a few tokens. This is a decision I haven't regretted as EOS has been my best performer for the last 5 months, always seeming to be the shining green light in a sea of red.

The EOS launch has been highly anticipated for many reasons. And for just as many reasons, I haven't been keeping track of details, only that it will launch in June 2018.

Perhaps I should have taken more notice, instead of feeling secure that I have a couple of EOS tokens stashed away because it doesn't just end there.

According to the distribution schedule...

The distribution schedule comprises of one (1) 120-hour period commencing June 26, 2017 at 13:00 UTC, followed by three hundred fifty (350) consecutive 23-hour periods commencing July 1, 2017 13:00:00 UTC.

Within 23 hours after the end of the final period on June 1, 2018 at 22:59:59 UTC, all EOS Tokens will become fixed (ie. frozen) and will be non-transferrable on the Ethereum blockchain.

What does that mean?

This means EOS token holders need to "complete the important process to register their Ethereum addresses prior to June 2, 2018 at 21:59:59 UTC*. Registration allows addresses and associated balances to be identified after the release of EOSIO v1.0." otherwise our EOS tokens will not be recognised by EOS and therefore be worthless.

giphy.gif
(Me today when I found out about the whole registration business.)

Coinomi & EOS

If I didn't have my Coinomi wallet I wouldn't be able to get into crypto. Coinomi just makes it crypto accessible and user friendly, and when they began supporting EOS I took that opportunity and bought some.

Coinomi was brilliant until I had to register my EOS tokens.

The problem was I found this page that gave details for Coinomi users to register their EOS tokens but the API didn't work. It said it was invalid.

Either I didn't do it right or it just doesn't work. Either way this had to get done TODAY!

So back to the EOS website I went, deciding to do it their way and register with MyEtherWallet and here's how that went.

Step 1

Go to https://eos.io, scroll down until you see GET EOS and click that.
1.jpg

Step 2

Read it all, check all the boxes and hit continue.
2.jpg

Step 3

Scroll down until you see the "Register" link and click that.
3.jpg

4.jpg

Step 4

Scroll down, select MyEtherWallet, click Generate EOS Keys.
SAVE THOSE KEYS and follow the instructions.
5.jpg

Step 5

If followed correctly, when you enter in your MEW address & "Verify my EOS" here it should tell you "You're all set!"

9.jpg

6.jpg

BUT WAIT. THERE'S MORE

Your accounts are now linked and you're registered but you still need to move your EOS over!

Step 6

In MyEtherWallet, scroll down the "Tokens" list and add EOS. You should now have EOS in your "Selected Tokens" list.
7.jpg

Step 7

Lucky last step. Go to where your EOS is kept (in my case in my Coinomi wallet in the EOS tab) and send it to your MEW address. I did it in increments until I was sure I was doing the right thing and it's going to the right place.

8.jpg

Once you're sure. Send the whole lot over and repeat Step 5 just to double, triple check. It should show you your EOS balance this time around.

And that's it you have registered your EOS and you're all set for the launch!

Special thanks to my homies

@ausbitbank & @gohba.handcrafts for helping me out with this today and for calming me down. You guys are awesome. Special mention to @mattclarke, cos you tried mate :)

If you haven't registered yet you better get a move on!!

I heard there's still quite a lot of people who haven't registered and I'm imagining congested servers because of the droves registering at the last minute.

It's like doing the Christmas Shopping night before Christmas. Don't do it!

I hope this was easy to follow and it's helped light a fire up people's behinds re. registering. If I got any terminologies or anything wrong please let me know in the comments so I can correct and edit my post.

Happy Steeming Peeps!

🍀 Arly

Sort:  

That's a great tutorial, @bearone! I registered my tokens a good while ago, so I'm all set, but it looks like very many people have yet to register theirs. I just hope all of them will do it in the next few days, or else they will have a big problem.

Thanks @valth! Lucky you! I swear I almost had a heart attack when I found out about registration today. Thr next couple of days should be interesting!

I'm glad you found out about it before it was too late then!

Thr next couple of days should be interesting!

It definitely will. I wonder how many people will come rushing to post about it when the loose all their tokens because of not registering them.

Glad to hear you are sorted 😊

Me too! OMG that was a close one!

I wish I knew what was going on, awesome read tho!!

Lol thanks. I wish I had sold the bastards instead lol

Orrrr you could just put them on Binance and let them do all the work for you. ;-)

I need to figure out Binance, I think. ;)

Its another mile stone to future..will be there to join soon and hope for the best.

I had bought a few EOS tokens but found the registration process to be too cumbersome for me, so I ended up selling them for Steem. It was probably a mistake but I couldn't take that risk.

I seriously considered selling mine and probably would have if it was still above my buy price. So definitely feel you on the cumbersome part.

Who knows if it's a mistake, you could have gotten a really good deal on your Steem. I hope you did 🤞

Yeah I did. But once it becomes a proper currency, I can trade it without worrying.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold