How You Can Beat the Bandwidth Limits and Succeed on Steemit From Day One in 6 Easy Steps

in #tutorial6 years ago

So, I heard so much about the trials of running up against bandwidth restrictions when I was hosting #Dolphinschool Bootcamp on @markrmorrisjr that I decided I'd find out how to make it work by starting this account.

You guys weren't kidding! Within the first day, I hit a wall. Granted, I started with 3 SP, so I was low on the totem pole. But, I was determined to get the word out about @dolphinschool, so I sent a few more Steem to the account, only to find out, I couldn't even power it up!

So, I hit up an account of a friend that's mostly dormant, for a loan and got my battery charged to the tune of an additional 50 SP. So far, so good.

So, today, on dolphinschool, I wanted to share some ideas with you on how to conserve bandwidth. It's going to continue to be a problem for new accounts, into the foreseeable future. I may set up a test account, with precisely the same parameters as a beginner, no help from here or @markrmorrisjr and see what I can do. If I do, I'll report on it after 30 days.

Otherwise, you guys will just head over and follow and upvote and do what you do, and spoil the effect of starting from scratch.

That's when I wrote this

Today, I got curious. I took a look at a brand new user's account. In the wallet, I discovered, they are only granted 0.5 SP, and have a delegation (loan) of another 14.53 SP, for just over 15! That's about what I was running on yesterday when I had issues again!!

1st Understand bandwidth usage!

There are a lot of things that use bandwidth on steemit. In fact, pretty much the only thing that does not, is logging in, and reading content. After that, nearly every effective action you can take will knock it lower!

  • Posting
  • Commenting
  • Upvoting
  • Downvoting
  • Resteeming
  • Following
  • Transferring
  • Buying/selling in the market
  • Powering up
  • Powering down

In short, everything it means to be active on steemit has a cost.

You can track your bandwidth and usage here: https://steemd.com/@dolphinschool

**Simply change the address by adding your user name.

Like this https://steemd.com/@username

Since bandwidth is so limited, how can anyone hope to start from scratch? Well, I've got some great solutions, if you're willing to try them.

STEP ONE

Sort:  

Awesome, informative post!! There's so much to learn here in Steemit, Thank you!!

Yep, I've been digging through it for almost two years since I got here and just scratching the surface! And it always changes! Be sure to follow me at @dolphinschool, I do lots of training. In my secret identity, I'm @markrmorrisjr, running all my training stuff and #dolphinschool bootcamp on here.

thank you for providing this content ;)

Hey, you are most welcome. Be sure to follow me at @dolphinschool, I do lots of training. In my secret identity, I'm @markrmorrisjr, running all my training stuff and #dolphinschool bootcamp on here.

This post has received a 3.46 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @markrmorrisjr.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and yeah, keep going. Love the school.

Hey thanks! I appreciate all the support I can get!

Sure glad I do not have to deal with those bandwidth issues, but still wish there is a resolution to this because everyone who starts and have difficulty just doing a simple task on steemit may get detour very quickly.

Well, I'm going to be looking for people to adopt the next bootcamp with a small delegation for that 5 or 7 days, haven't decided which yet. So, if you're in a position to do it, as you know, even an extra 3 to 5 SP can be huge! If not the next round, keep that in mind for the future. I'd love all of you guys to mentor a new plankton.

I am up for it to help out. Let me know who and when you start the next bootcamp. Thanks.

Cool, I will try to remember. If you see me put up sign ups, remind me.

I'm really glad that you have written these post about the bandwidth issue. If I had the bandwidth, I would upvote and comment on them all, lol! Seriously though, yesterday I barely did anything at all on Steemit because I wanted my bandwidth to get back on track after #dolphinschool and I still woke up with no bandwidth. Every night before bed it is usually at least 50%, when I wake up it says I have to wait 157 hours for a recharge. Luckily, it doesn't take as long to recharge but even without doing much on Steemit, i'm left with none in the morning.

Man, that's tough. Well, I've heard they are looking to increase the size of the blocks added to the blockchain, which would ease the problem. Hey, go over to @markrmorrisjr, he's got some contests that are super easy to win and if you win, you could buy more steem!

Thanks @steemgoblin I really appreciate that, I will go over and enter into the contest now. The issue is finally starting to ease up for me but it was really tough at first.

I didn't until after you showed me about it. Thank you so much!

Thank you @markrmorrisjr for the informative post

Shhh, not here. LOL (secret identity)