๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ•บ๐ŸปLearn to Longboard Dance! ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿป First LB Dance Lesson on Steemit!

in #tutorial โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

This will be the first of a series of lessons I will be posting, showing you all how to do longboard dancing tricks. We are starting with the first dance tricks that I learned, the cross step, and the S carve. Hope you enjoy my hilarious dancing to some awesome music at the end!

Previous Post Goodness

Playing with 4K down some fun paths!
https://steemit.com/video/@howweroll/4k-longboarding-video-moray-path-session

Longboarders On Steemit, UNITE!

First off, I will upvote every longboarding video on Steemit I find.
Use the Tag longboarding to help us all show up in the same feed.
Join our facebook page to help grow longboarding on Steemit
LONGBOARDING ON STEEMIT6_o.jpg

Sort: ย 
ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hey Darell,

Your longboard dancing video tutorial was really great . Thanks!
(and also Thx @Curie for bringing your post and you to my attention!).

My board took me for a ride this morning under the winter sun. The ride was real nice, and I tried your dance move. Needless to say I wasn't too successful lol: I felt I didn't have enough place on the board. I was quite impressed by the length of yours. Mine is 41 Inch, is it enough for a beginner like me to perform the move (1 year practice, no figures, just enjoying rides from A to B)?

And oh, may I ask you another question? shoes: roads or tracks are not always smooth, and often paved here. I get all the vibrations in my support foot which forces me to stop to rest. Tried extra soles in my shoes. didn't work. Would you have any you advice on shoes I should purchase that could damper for my feet the vibrations of the LB on paved tracks?

In late spring, the longboard community in my area wakes up. I can't wait to go touring like I did last year after one of my students made me try her longboard (I had never put my foot on a skate before, when I tried it, it was like love at first sight). I made a little video about it:

Greeting from a Longboarder in The Netherlands !

Wow, you guys got a big group. I've heard longboarding is huge there, i heard they held a few longboard dance contests out there not long ago.
You can buy risers for the longboard trucks that absorb some of the vibration. They are little rubber pads that go between the truck and the board. Wheel choice is also important, hard wheels roll a bit easier if you're on a smooth road, but soft wheels make those rough roads a lot easier to handle. Boards with flex to them are also great for rough roads, like the one im riding which is made of bamboo.
I've also heard of a few trucks with a form of suspension being made recently, but have not tried them myself yet. Admittedly i am road picky, so i choose my route based on the smooth roads available, rather than just the shortest distance.
Thanks for that little video, so happy to run into a fellow rider already on here.

This post has received a 36.70% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @howweroll. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thanks for noticing this amazing Canadian! I was actually shaking my fist at the cosmos last week, seeing his dog on a longboard post getting a super low payout... Thanks again, Juice, (or Aggy LOL!)

Wow that is lovely.
Hope to follow your series all through.
Nice one

Thank you! I will try to record one once a week if possible. Its going to be a little tough tho, as I also have a local tv crew that is planning to come film a few of my classes as well. Big things seem to be happening to me recently.
Thanks for the support!

Wow, is all I can say.

Yes Daryl way to go man!! You deserve it!!

Thanks man. Glad to see you back. I dont doubt you'll get your recognition soon too.
Now i just need to get faster at editing.

Sport forms a culture of optimism, a culture of vivacity.

Learned a new word (vivacity), and got a great compliment. Double thank you!

You are hilarious, love your presence here and the actual tutorial value is really high, what a great lesson! Wonderful use of selfie-stick, maybe the best that I have seen - what a trip to watch that perspective of you skating around. I loved it.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thank you so much! Yes you can quote me.
I have always been a person who tries to build community where ever I go in life, and it was longboarding that helped me learn this about myself. When I first got into longboards, I tried to get everyone I knew to ride one. First we just skated together, but soon we had put on events, contest, and fundraiser for a kid who rode longboard across Canada after beating cancer. Don't worry, he'll be joining Steemit soon.
Now my goal is to bring the global longboarding community to Steemit, because so many of them make a ton of great content, and they are also an amazing group of people that live the true meaning of community.
On top of all that, I also believe community is what will change the world. So often I hear people say there is no hope for the world because people are just greedy, and violent, so we cannot dream of a better world. But we have forgotten that communities of people, cooperating together is what brought us to where we are today. Communities take many forms, like just neighbourhoods of people who do things together, or the scientific community, and of course the Steemit community. So if we can learn to work as a global community rather than fighting each other, we can evolve to the next level one day. Which I believe is a self-governing civilization.

Dude, you rock. Tip of the cap.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Wow dude killing it! Also I love the girls volleyball team just casually getting ready in the background haha. Would be funny if the video ended with you being hit in the head with a serve as they start to play(cue record scratching to a halt sound effect).

Hahahaha, that would have been awesome! Yeah they usually do practice after my class, even got a few to ride some boards the class before, but my camera had died by then.

Congratulations @howweroll!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 134,38

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, feel free to vote for my witness! You can do it here or use SteemConnect

Thank you! I'll check that out and vote.

ย 6 years agoย ย 

I didn't known that you existed, now i can read something cool, but later, I need to clean my dervish first, it was raining today. Cheers!

YES! I will be doing longboard dance contests soon with some of the SBD I earned from this post. We going to build a strong longboard community here on steemit!

@howweroll Sounds good :) Steem on.

Best wishes, - @splendorhub

Love this. I'm guessing you posted this cause you saw the video I posted of the skateboarding beagle?

Not at all :) I love this gif. I figure you might like it =)

You guessed right.

its amazing and lovely....we expect good stuffs like this from @howweroll

Thank you! I'll make sure I don't let you down!

DUDE!!! SO HAPPY TO SEE YOUR POST GET THE RECOGNITION IT DESERVES!!!! (Okay, switching from all-caps now... LOL)

So happy, I am gonna go smoke a spliff and do a happy dance!!!
HURRAY!!!!

imageedit_40_8674518860.gif

Thanks for all your support man, caps and all! The awesome part is now a ton of people who I've been trying to get to join, got a whole lot more interested when I showed them how much this post got when converted to Canadian dollars. Shoukd see some new ppl soon!

Power it UP!!

thanks