How to set up a Valueline VLR-RC001 universal remote control for a Hitachi 26H8S02 TV model

in #tv6 years ago (edited)

In this post, I will show you how to set up a Valueline VLR-RC001 universal remote controlin order to operate on a Hitachi 26H8S02 TV model. 

When I bought the Valueline VLR-RC001 TV remote control, I didn’t realize that I would have to set it up first, in order for it to work properly on my TV set, which is a Hitachi 26H8S02. So, when I went back home, I tried to switch the TV on by using this remote control, but as you can imagine, it didn’t work. 

 Image originally uploaded by Francis Bijl on Flickr.com and reused under Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) Creative Commons License 

I read the remote control’s manual and tried to follow the instructions, but I couldn’t make the TV set respond to it, no matter what I did, although there were not one but three methods to set it up. 

Then, I realized that I missed the code that was required, in order to set the remote control. As far as I can understand, this code is unique to the Hitachi 26H8S02 TV model and can be used with any universal TV remote control, and not only with the Valueline VLR-RC001 model (although I have not used the same code with any other TV remote control in practice to check whether this is true). 

Therefore, I did an online search about how I can set this specific remote control for this specific TV, and I found out that there were many codes applicable to various Hitachi TV models. However, I couldn’t find any information about which specific one applied to the Hitachi 26H8S02 model. 

 Image originally uploaded by TJStamp on Flickr.com and reused under Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) Creative Commons License 

What I did was to begin testing each code, starting from the last one, since this Hitachi model is a recent one, and I found that the correct code was “0737”. 

This is what you should do, step-by-step and by following the direct code mode according to the remote control’s manual: 

After you have turned the TV on through its manual switch, you should press the SET button, and then the TV1 or TV2 button on the remote control (your choice depends on whether you have 1 or 2 TV sets to set up). Once the LED has lit up, enter one-by-one the 4 digits of the code: “0737”. Then the LED is turned off, and your Valueline VLR-RC001 remote control has been set up for the Hitachi 26H8S02 model, and you are done. Check whether the remote control buttons work properly, and that’s it!   

Reference: https://www.manualscat.com/en/valueline-vlr-rc001-manual?language=2 

Sort:  

nice post keep it up

Thank you for your comment!
I believe that anyone looking for similar information online may find this post useful, because I had a hard time setting my own universal remote TV control.