[TV] Top 10 Adult Animated Shows

in #tv6 years ago (edited)

Animated shows aimed at adults used to be a rare thing, but these days we're inundated with choice. Here we're going to run through my personal Top 10 Adult Animated Shows from the past couple of decades, but if that doesn't satisfy your hunger for more shows, you can check out my IMDB list on the topic here: https://www.imdb.com/list/ls023803278/



#1

South Park

South Park is easily my favourite of the adult animation genre, and has been around longer than most of its contemporaries with the obvious exception being The Simpsons. For a show that started out as little more than toilet humour, it's grown into one of the biggest satirical pop culture icons of all time.

The series was created by Matt Parker and Trey Stone back in 1997, after an animated short they'd created called The Spirit of Christmas got passed around as a video Christmas card. It was basically the first viral internet video. The show is one of Comedy Central's highest rated programmes, and still has plenty of life left in it.



#2

Bojack Horseman

Bojack Horseman is an animated black-drama show created by Raphael Bob-Waksberg and stars Will Arnett and Aaron Paul. I'm a massive fan of both Arnett and Paul, and they are just excellent in their roles. The show follows Bojack, the washed-up star of the 1990s Horsin' Around, as he tries to deal with life after being a huge Hollywoo star. It's set in an alternate world where humans and anthropomorphic animals live side by side.

Bojack Horseman is probably one of the most "real" animated shows around, despite being so bizarre and absurd at times. You can catch it on Netflix, and if you haven't watch it already, you really need to binge this one ASAP.



#3

Brad Neely's Harg Nallin' Sclopio Peepio

My favourite thing to watch on Adult Swim by far, and definitely one of their most underrated shows. Brad Neely's Harg Nallin' Sclopio Peepio is a 2016 animated comedy sketch show created by the titular Brad Neely. Sadly, it was cancelled after just one season, but what a season it is. The show is made up of short, singular skits, short films and songs.

It's really hard to describe this show in words, it's probably best if you head over to the Adult Swim website and give it a try. It's not going to be to everyone's taste, but if you're a fan of weird then you'll love this.



#4

Monkey Dust

Monkey Dust was an animated sketch show that ran on BBC Three in the UK, and had a three season run. In case you thought this one wasn't going to be weird/bizarre/absurd, I'll put you out your misery and say it's all three of those. I remember catching this on TV while doing coursework for my GCSEs, it was always a welcome distraction. This show really does have some of the darkest humour around, covering topics such as paedophilia, beastiality, murder and suicide, which always surprised me for a BBC show.

If you can find this one, I strongly urge you to try it out. I've only ever been able to find the first season on DVD, but if you look hard enough you can find all three seasons on the murkier parts of the web.



#5

Animals.

Animals. is an HBO animated comedy show about the many downtrodden creatures that thrive within New York City's uniquely unpleasant ecosystem. It was created, written and stars showrunners Phil Matarese and Mike Luciano, and produced by the Duplass Brothers.

It uses a pretty unique art style, almost ad-lib style of comedy and is universally loved by it's fans. Mike and Phil play most of the main characters, whether that's rats, pigeons, cats or dogs. Each season has an overarching "human" story, with the second season even featuring a live-action episode focused on the humans. The show was renewed for a third season which we should be getting later this year, so gorge yourself on the first two seasons in preparation.



#6

Archer

Archer follows the titular character, Sterling Archer, and the dysfunctional international spy organisation ISIS. It was created in 2009 by Adam Reed and stars H. Jon Benjamin as Archer. Reed created the show after his previous Adult Swim project, Frisky Dingo, was cancelled, and he wanted to do something with a James Bond feel to it. If you've seen Frisky Dingo, you'll notice the similarities between the two shows.

The ninth season is expected to air later this month, and Reed has said that he plans to conclude Archer with the tenth season.



#7

Futurama

Oh Futurama, why did they have to cancel you? Futurama was a sci-fi animated show created by Matt Groening of the Simpsons. It ran for 7 seasons and even had several straight-to-DVD movies. Not much really needs to be said for this one, as it's one of those shows that permeated the collective pop membrane. Will we ever see it return to our small screens? Probably not at this point sadly.



#8

Rick and Morty

You can't say adult animation without thinking Rick and Morty these days. Despite garnering a bad reputation for it's toxic fan base, it is still easily one of the best things on TV. It's self-aware to the extent it might as well be given it's own passport. So far we have three seasons to watch, with the season 3 premier landing on April Fool's Day last year, catching many off guard.

No news yet on if or when we'll be getting a new season, and if Mr Poopy Butthole is to be believed, we could still have a long wait ahead of us.



#9

King of the Hill

King of the Hill is set in the fictional town of Arlan, Texas and follows the life of propane and propane accessory salesman Hank Hill. It was created by Mike Judge and Greg Daniels in 1997 and managed an impressive 13 seasons before finally coming to an end in 2009. There have been rumours of some new episodes being worked on, but they're only rumours at this point.

I highly recommend another animated show by Mike Judge called Mike Judge Presents: Tales from the Tour Bus, which began airing last year. It tells the tales of some of Country music's biggest stars such as Johnny Paycheck, Jerry Lee Lewis, George Jones and Tammy Wynette, as told by those who knew them best.



#10

Samurai Jack

The final entry on this list, but by no means last, is Samurai Jack, a cartoon that started life on Cartoon Network in 2001, but was picked up by Adult Swim for it's fifth and final season in 2017. I didn't watch this one back when it was first broadcast, but instead many years later after it was recommended by Charlie Brooker (of Black Mirror) in one of his old Screen Wipe programmes.

The series follows "Jack", an unnamed samurai sent through time to a dystopian future ruled by the tyrannical shape-shifting demon "Aku". Jack quests to travel back in time and defeat Aku before he can take over the world. The show has a very distinctive art style, which in fact went on to influence the art style of Star Wars: The Clone Wars. Definitely worth watching, especially now that it has a satisfying conclusion. I believe the show still airs regularly on Adult Swim.



Well, that's my list, what did you think? Any you disagree with? Let me know your thoughts in the comments down below, and if you know of any adult animated shows I might not have heard of pop them in the comment section. I'm hoping to start a new tag, #tvdiscovery, to help people find new TV shows. Personally I'd love to see some recommendations from users in other countries. I got this idea from a great Steemit user, @conradt who started the #musicdiscovery tag. As always, make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Internet and Pop Culture updates. Until next time, Peace!

All images are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I've always enjoyed King of the Hill for how real it is. I have actually lived in Texas and in particular the area the Hills are from (East Texas) with the clipped accents. I still say sometimes like Peggy "I won the substitute Spanish teacher of the year award" in that accent when I've accomplished something haha I agree Southpark and Futurama are awesome. The others except for Bojack I have not seen and will check out when I have some free time. There are some old cartoons I will also categorize as adult even though kids watched them namely the Flintstones and Rocky and Bullwinkle although I do not know if those are still on TV (maybe Cartoon Network has them on their ap)

King of the Hill is definitely the most "real" one there is. I really hope the rumours of a comeback are true. If only I could do accents!
Yeah I think you'd enjoy all of them, especially Animals. and Archer. If you do end up watching Monkey Dust, let me know what you think. I doubt anyone outside of the UK would really find it amusing.
Do Cartoon Network have a seperate channel for the classics now? I think it's called Boomerang, although it's been years since I checked.

Awesome thanks for the shout out too!

I tried Bojack horseman everyone raves about it - probably didnt give it a long enough try!

ALso have you seen Big Mouth? Its pretty over the top and funny!

Anytime bud! It was a great idea you had.

The first season isn't the best, but it's definitely worth sticking with. The latest season (third I think) was really, really good.

I did watch Big Mouth, I couldn't decide whether I liked it or not. I couldn't figure out who the intended audience was either. I'll still be watching the second season when it comes out though.

Thanks might try it again.

I was in the same boat with big mouth. Definetly had some good content but very odd! Il be watching the second season aswell ☺

wuow! I´m really out of wave! I must try seeing anyone!giphy-downsized.gif

Huge fan of some of these!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Wow, I've never seen half of em! Shame on me... I certainly want to check out samurai jack, I have heard its awesome :)

I think you'd enjoy Samurai Jack, especially this last season they did recently that aired on Adult Swim. Hope you're well bud!

I have not heard of a number of those. Here is my top list:

Futurama
South Park
Archer
Adventure Time
Steven Universe

Some great picks there! I feel ashamed I left Adventure Time off the list, that should definitely have been there. I haven't seen Steven Universe, would you recommend it?

I've always enjoyed King of the Hill for how real it is. I have actually lived in Texas and in particular the particular area the Hills are from (East Texas) with the clipped accents. I still say sometimes like Peggy "I won the substitute Spanish teacher of the year award" in that accent when I've accomplished something haha I agree Southpark and Futurama are awesome. The others except for Bojack I have not seen and will check out when I have some free time. There are some old cartoons I will also categorize as adult even though kids watched them namely the Flintstones and Rocky and Bullwinkle although I do not know if those are still on TV (maybe Cartoon Network has them on their ap)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 12.15% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @johngreenfield!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Hello @johngreenfield, thank you for sharing this creative work! If you're interested, take a look at our magazine @creativecrypto. We are all about art on the blockchain, and learning from creatives like you. Swing by and say hello!