“Lessons LEARNT” — Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 4

HELLO,

Below is my entry for the poetry contest. It is based on my own life experience of abuse which has made me an even stronger person. To overcome certain things in your life that are utterly negative takes strength and I am happy with myself that I can now say that time in my life is now done, over with and well in the past.

I love forward to happier and better days,

Enjoy





help.jpg
photo source: www.quora.com


I am put down and left broken
With twisted bitterness and lies,
I am threaded in the snow
But still, like dust, I'll rise.

Does my good nature upset you?
Does my positivity give you gloom?
Why does positivity equals your gloom?
‘Cause I hold my head up even in doom.
Hell breaking out in my living room.

Just as hearts and Northern lights,
The in and out of tides,
Just like a young boy or girl on Christmas,
Still I'll rise.

You get joy from seeing me broken?
Tears in my eyes and broken skin?
My heart fallen down like a raindrop
In a pool of sorrow created by cries.

Why does my confidence offend you?
Why do you want to see me down?
'Cause I laugh like not a care in the world.
While there is hell in my own back yard.

You may hurt me with your fists,
You may cut me with your knife,
You may bruise and batter me,
But still, like air, I'll rise.

Does my bravery upset you?
I hope it doesn’t come as a surprise
That I dance as if I have rubies
At the edge of my swollen toes

I come out into the light of history's shame
I rise
I have history and a past that is all pain
I rise
I'm a rough ocean, harsh with the tide,
Bashing and crashing I bear in the tide.
Leaving behind frights and nights of fear
I rise
Into a dawn that is bright and calm
I rise
Bringing the gifts of a strong woman,
I am the dream and the hope of a woman reborn.
I rise
I rise
I rise.

#twbpoetrycontest

Sort:  

inspiring stuff. like it

Congratulations @samantha.samuels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @samantha.samuels! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @samantha.samuels! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!