IN LOVE AND WAR - WRITERS BLOCK POETRY CONTEST WEEK 5

in #twbpoetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my submission in response to The Writers Block's Poetry Contest Prompt
images (36).jpeg
Source

I

After we have finished wiping bums

In search of absolution,

After ablutions in the morning

Before curses fall like seeds,

We will crumble into dust

And break bread with death again.


Father forgive me;

I fondled her hips

And caressed her eyelids;

I worshipped beneath her heat

And she absolved me, father, with a kiss.


I am washing my feet in the dust

Let ashes clean the sorrow from my head.

I am counting beads with weary fingers

But my amins are stuck in my throat.


After we have wept before his feet,

And genuflected before his name;

After we have washed our elbows clean

And rinsed our tongue of sinful spit,

We shall cross the street

And poke holes into the broken skins

Of brothers and friends;

We will worship in blood and tears.

II

Look at us, you and i;

Broken, lost in this cold darkness,

Chained beneath the crushing weight of time.


Where is hope?

Did she call you?

Did she whisper any titbit

To succour our parched lips

That has refused each other's kisses?

Did she make promises?

Even unkept promises are better than silence.


Come, do not go.

Let you and I watch the sun set on the world together;

Endings are always beautiful

Like a movie hero staggering in slow motion,

The weeping song bleeding sniffles

From buried lips swollen with kisses.


Come, why do you frown?

Can't we speak of love ?

Can't you and I cuddle our memories

Into the soft shoulders of our thoughts?

Can't we embrace the fading warmth

Leaving the fast cooling embrace of yesterday?


What do we have left?

Hope?

But she left us bare, naked in the sun.

She denied us peace and even this,

This broken flesh is not ours to keep,

So what do we have left?


You must leave, it seems.

I am sorry to have kept you.

I will watch the moon rise alone;

I have always done so.

Hope has gone home to roost.

Good night.


Peace

©@warpedpoetic

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.14 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello warpedpoetic...I enjoyed reading your poem; you are a gifted writer. Sorry I couldn't up-vote you...my vote power is too low. Good luck with the contest.

Thank you. I am glad you liked it. Your comments are kind and i am grateful. I hope i win too. Thanks for stopping by.

Lovely piece...I read it aloud as I'm wont to do whenever I encounter a beautiful piece of poetry, it was almost as if the poem shouldn't end but rather continue ad infinitum. Lovely piece 😊

Thank you for stopping by my blog. I do hope to see you again. Stay safe