Blood is thicker than water (#twentyfourhourshortstory entry)

This is my entry for the twentyfourhourshortstory contest. The prompt was "A vampire grows allergic to blood".

blood-1715010_1920.jpg

Blood is thicker than water

I am hungry again. I should have let that last one live a bit longer. Mother always says I am greedy and maybe she is right. If I hadn’t sucked her dry, I would still have an afternoon snack. Mother says my greediness will come to haunt me some day, but I doubt it. Many of us are greedy, it’s just something the blood of a tasty young virgin does to you. Once you taste it, you never go back. You keep wanting more and more.
I guess I need to hunt again then. But maybe I will sleep first. It’s almost daylight; I can’t stand the daylight. Apart from the fact that the sun burns my skin, humans are far too alert during the day. The best way to catch them is at night, when they are weary and tired and not looking out too well.

I am finally satisfied. The sleep did nothing for me, I was dreaming of blood all day. At least the night was properly dark, so much better for hunting. I almost asked Vlad to join me, but he isn’t a good hunter and I’d end up doing all the work. But he would share in the benefit, of course. I kept this one alive though, so I can feast on her more than once. See, Mother? Not so greedy now, huh? I can control myself if I want to. And I have to admit that not having to hunt again for a day or so is a great prospect. It is much more fun to watch the others struggle. Vlad was especially annoyed when I brought the girl back to the dungeon, he wanted to have a share, but I warded him off successfully. She’s all mine. I had to lock the cellar, but that’s all right. I don’t mind the dark and the cold and the girl soon won’t mind either. Maybe I will turn her once she has served her purpose.

No. I am not going to turn her. The bitch has infected me with something. I am all itchy and when I lighted some candles to inspect it, I could see big welts swelling up on my arms and legs. I have given her to Vlad. Oh, he was so grateful, practically cowering before me. Mother wasn’t impressed, she thinks we shouldn’t encourage Vlad’s poaching ways, but I want to see if Vlad will also break out in hives from her blood. At least then I will know that it is not just me.

Damn, it is just me. Vlad is fine, he feasted on the girl for hours. These welts won’t go away, what is wrong with me? I snuck into Mother’s cellar and sucked one of her victims dry as I was so hungry. Mother will be mad when she finds out, but she won’t suspect me. I always pride myself on hunting my own food. But I feel strange and slightly weak. My arms are starting to look swollen from the welts, and I could swear that my neck is even swelling up. Swallowing is getting more difficult, so I have actually taken to drinking water. It’s not as thick, but it is revolting. How can anyone drink water when there is blood available? Oh shit, was that a shiver? Did I actually feel nauseous thinking of blood? No, don’t be ridiculous, of course not. I am just a bit under the weather. I need to sleep more.

Well, sleep didn’t do much. I was hungry when I woke up and the swelling had gone down a bit so I actually went out hunting. I am proud that I at least caught my own prey again. But I am still feeling sick. I caught a plump one, with the most gorgeous neck. I thought I would really enjoy feasting on her, especially since she was very feisty, but no. I only swallowed a mouthful before I could feel myself swell up again and I had to fight not to vomit. What the hell is wrong with me? Vampires don’t get sick, we are strong, even immortal. Maybe I just need a change of diet.

So far the change of diet seems to work. I still need blood, but I have resorted to killing sheep. I am hiding out though, I can’t let the others know that something’s wrong with me. They won’t take kindly to weakness. Sheep’s blood isn’t as good as human blood. It’s heavier and doesn’t flow with as much abundance. But at least is doesn’t make me nauseous. And I think the swelling has gone down as well. I can swallow, so that is something. And the itch is only noticeable when I am awake. Yes, I am sure that I am getting better. Good, all I needed was a change of diet and I will be fine in no time.

Father has started to notice that I am staying away. Damn him, why does he have to be so observant? He has ordered a raid on a village two days travelling away. Everyone is ordered to come. I know he will be watching me closely. So much for my change of diet. Although, to be honest, it’s not really working anymore. My whole body is covered in big welts right now and I have started to wear a cravat so my swollen neck isn’t visible anymore. Can’t have anyone asking inconvenient questions now, can I? Especially not Father. He would drive me away from the family the instant he suspects a weakness in me. No matter that I am the oldest son. Although, how much is that worth anyway? It’s not like I will ever succeed him, because he will never die. Haha! I will always be the crown prince, never the king.

Eugh, the raid was awful. I am still good at catching prey, but the feast was where things went wrong. Mother even commented on the fact that I am not my usual greedy self. I tried to convince her that I had taken her words to heart, but you can’t fool her. They made me suck my prey dry, and I mean completely dry. I could hardly swallow, but to show weakness in the face of the whole group would have been... well, not exactly fatal seeing as I am immortal, but detrimental to my continued enjoyment of life.
We’re back in the castle now though. Everyone has gone to sleep, all the coffin lids are closed and I am the only one roaming the dungeons. I can’t sleep. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to sleep. How can blood have turned against me? I thrive on blood, it’s what gives me my enjoyment in life. And yet. And yet I can no longer stand the sight, let alone the smell of it. Even thinking about it now makes me want to vomit.
In the village I was able to sneak away for a few moments. I found the local doctor’s office and looked up my symptoms in one of the books. Me, Afanas the Great, looking up illnesses in a mortal’s book. I am horrified, even now, but the book gave me the information I needed. I have a condition called “allergy”. Apparently you can’t cure it. And the book gave no information about an allergy brought on by blood. Presumably because mortals don’t drink blood.

I have stayed away from blood for a week now and the swelling is going down. After the raid Father has left me alone. I am not sure whether he believes there is nothing wrong with me or whether he doesn’t want to bother finding out what is going on, but I am glad to be left alone. At night I go out and steal wine. It’s red, although a lot thinner than blood, but it sustains me enough. I have even started to try fruit. Yes, you shudder, and you should as it is revolting. But what am I to do? I don’t want to become weak, and without a food source, I will waste away until I can do no more than lie in my coffin all day. Not die. I will never die.

I still catch virgins. It would be suspicious if I didn’t, but I don’t drink their blood. Nor do I turn them over to Vlad or anyone else from the family. I leave them in the dungeon for a day and then smuggle them out again. They are always frightened when they arrive and amused when they leave. I am no longer an object of fear. I am no longer a proper vampire. I am nothing.

@originalworks

Sort:  

Congratulations! I sent you 5 Steem for winning the Twenty-Four hour short story contest for January 26.

Solid writing! Thank you for participating.

Ah, thank you so much! It was really fun to participate, and the prompt really took me out of my comfort zone, which is what you want when you are writing. I'm so happy I won!!

Good Luck in the contest! Thank you for sharing this story.