My Dear Devil - The Wolf

in #twentyfourhourshortstory6 years ago (edited)

My Dear Devil

He wasn’t a devil: that kept me going during that endless search. Like the virus that ripped off most of my family some time ago, despite of the efforts of our human friends. To them, our life seems easy, but we know there's only way out: either we die in the slaughterhouse or we die between the teeth of a devil wolf.

Sure, one can argue our owners are just murderous bastards, but they are kind to us, feeding us, cuddling with us, they even talk with us about their strange problems with money (it’s like a god or something, strange stuff, believe me). Some of my cousins don’t like humans. I do, because after all, they protect us from wolves. And I’d be glad to help them with their strange problems, if only they could understand me. We sheep, we live life at our best, profiting the fresh air, the fresh grass and the cuddles of our owners… Why can’t they do the same?


sheep-3119307_640.jpg
Source: Pixabay

But I shall start from the beginning. Some days ago, as usual, I got lost in my thoughts while eating my happy meal at sunrise, which is something I love. You should try it someday: fresh grass, sunrise and no dogs barking at me because I’m out of the line… Perfect life. Sometimes Jack is just incompetent and that’s why he doesn’t even care to bark but most times that’s because he also doesn’t know where I am. Seems that’s what happened that day: I just got lost! But I didn’t care, I was pretty sure I could find my way back home without the help of that silly old dog.

I was trying to find my way home when I saw a silhouette not far away. Not one of my owners for sure, but it was definitely a human. He seemed a bit lost, so I thought I could help him. I headed in his direction, feeling like finally I’d be useful to a human in my life. But he looked at me and jumped back, stumbling and falling like he didn’t even know how to walk. He was definitely injured so I approached him slowly not to scare him, finally seeing what humans look like underneath those strange furs: this one was completely naked, like me. Ha! He also smelled differently, with a natural odor and not those horrible scents they put on several times a year. I immediately liked this human, but he was so scared of me. He didn't even stand up, cuddling my wool. His skin was soft and I felt safe.

That early morning couldn’t be any better before the strangest thing happened. His skin suddenly became harder and he started acting harshly to me. I could sense something wasn’t right and wanted to help but it seemed like he was transforming, turning into something evil, something dark and horrible. A devil. That thought struck me like a lightning bolt.

I had to go back and leave the place as fast as possible. I started running, feeling him chasing me and closing up fast. After a while I knew I was running for my life, running towards the barn, following the faint colours of our old barn and crying… Finally my dearest friend Jack runned towards me as fast as he could, barking, and hope invaded me. Jack was saving my life from what I then knew was the worst death of all.

Starting that day, my life changed and I lived not to eat grass but to look for my kind and sweet wolf, for he was not a devil but a beautiful human trapped inside him. Jack had my back. I’m pretty sure he knew something was on but what could he do besides protect me? It’s his job anyway. We love Jack. He’s our friend and our humans friend also. He never actively helped me find my human, but he pointed the way when he smelled something different. We cannot talk to each other just like none of us can talk to humans, but we sure understand each other.

About one moon after the first incident, I was eating my lovely grass at sunset when Jack showed me a path with naked human footprints. I knew something was up so I went down the path until I finally saw him, disoriented and barely able to stay in his feet, just like the first time. He seemed not to recognize me, fleeing just like he did the first time, but also stumbling and falling on his back. He cuddled me and made some weird sounds, like little
humans do before they can actually articulate speech. I started to feel good again, and it seemed my presence calmed him down so we stayed together for a long time, enjoying the warm sunset and I even got to eat some great grass that was was growing nearby. Night was falling and I didn’t even care about finding my way back. This human was all I wanted, because he was kind and wild just like me.

In the morning I woke up with the first sun rays and I felt like never before. It would be the best day of my life so I started eating that great grass growing nearby, while I waited for my human to wake up. The sun was warm and cozy when I felt his hand in my wool. I had barely heard him, which is strange, but the shock struck me when I looked at his disfigured face. It happened again, and I was petrified. He was a devil wolf inside a transforming human body, and I could run for my life or die between the sharp teeth of my best friend.

I ran towards the eternal sadness and terror. Then I heard a shot. And another. And another. It happened so fast. I looked back and I saw the humans from the barn were shooting at my wolf! He was dying, blood spilling everywhere. I saw Jack running towards him and biting him in the neck. That inglorious traitor! Anger invaded me. Revenge couldn’t wait. I focused the nearest human with the gun pointed at me and I put him down almost immediately. He shouted in terror and I saw Jack running towards me as the guns filled my soul with pain and metal, and my reddish blood remembering the distant barn. Sweet death came soon after, not in the teeth of a wolf but those of a traitorous, filthy and bastard old dog.


dog-3199110_640.jpg
Source : Pixabay


DQmS1SF61LjKWUuHRToDmXTHysQHtjsBLomDLTnuw58UsPJ_1680x8400.png

This post is my entry to @mctiller 'se contest twenty-four hour short story. Thanks for the opportunity!

Here are some great posts I read recently and I recommend:

Hi Steemers! This is my "introduce yourself" post for you by @eunice.sousa

WTF is money and why bitcoin is more than just a currency by @sblue

Portuguese steemians or short first post by @manuellevi

Exploring dionysus through art by @skycae


If you enjoyed this post please consider:
upvote follow resteem
Source: @runicar


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zpedro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh my what a tragic end! .... I know such story in hinterland of Andalucia. But it scares me a lot that dogs are just slaughtered by their own humans.

It's a tragic end (I love tragic endings, haha) yes. Unfortunately there are still a lot of suffering for animals in general... Beings that definitely feel pain!

Thank you for your comment and upvote :)

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @zpedro

This post has received a 0.16 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness