A Passing Fish Tale

in #twentytwentysucks4 years ago

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWXvDBXzwRubztbqsZ8no6KKX37SoWvoPwhBFDwf9u7KHt6cE3sEGFGzkxZ2QgotMbYwwfKMECdYpBVY88Rd4Q6.jpg

This year just can't stop sucking. I lost my cat fish tonight. I don't remember exactly how many years I've had him but it's been quite a few. He developed some sort of a lump on his side a few weeks ago and it started getting bigger the last week. When I got up this morning he wasn't looking to good floating upside down trying to give it all it was worth. There really wasn't anything I could do to stop a growth and I knew it probably was over with but I wasn't taking him out until it was final.

His little buddies nudging him during the day wondering what was up, almost like they were trying to get him moving. They've always been a tight lot, been together for years. He was the boss of the aquarium and he chased them around quite a bit to let them know it but take them all out to clean the aquarium and they are all bunched up together in the pail like the best of pals protecting each other. I just went down there to take a look a few minutes ago and the final had come, he was as stiff as a board and his buddies were surrounding him looking like they waiting for him to rebound and chase them around. They'll probably miss his antics as much as I will. I wrote a post last year that included a few of them. It probably sounds silly but he was a fish with character.

You are probably all wondering where my state of mind has gone to be writing a story about a dead fish but believe me it's easier than the other story of why there's a rotting bag of potatoes out in the backyard for three weeks now, a piano that's been sitting on my front porch for the last couple months that's become a shrine for Indian relics and the wafting smoke billowing through my windows several times a week in what I am taking as a unsuccessful attempt to send out smoke signals....so you see a dead fish story isn't so bad after all is it.