Part of my Family

in #typhoon2 years ago

Typhoons are known to make frequent annual trips to the Philippines. And to be completely honest, there were times when I couldn't keep track of them all. The culprit, in my opinion, is mother nature's environmental hazards, deforestation, and climate change. The most recent typhoon, Paeng, is in my opinion the worst because it covers the entire archipelago and caused such extensive damage that rains started to fall before it even made landfall.

I mostly just watch the news and read on social media about the severe damage the typhoon causes during their onslaught; large families being moved to higher ground and the tragic news of those who did not survive. I never imagined that we would experience the very incident I am watching on television. This was the first time we had to flee to the safety of a neighbor's house.

Rain fell nonstop for a day or two, causing the flood in our subdivision to rise, and never imagine reaching our elevated rooms. I initially assumed that it would never reach our rooms because I am confident that they are high enough. As time passed, I noticed that the water continued to rise until it reached our room. This is the first time it has reached our room, so we decided to leave right away. I secured critical items such as my work computer and gadgets, washing machines, and, most importantly, we evacuated my sick mother to safety first.

baha2.jpg

mom.jpg

comp.jpg

room.jpg

neighbor.jpg

I have two dogs and couldn't bear the thought of leaving them behind. They are a part of my family, and I can't forgive myself if they die because I abandon them. I asked my nephew to carry them one at a time on leashes (to avoid them clashing with our neighbor's dog) and evacuated to our neighbor's garage. Unfortunately, they were also flooded, so we sat on a monobloc chair and raised our feet because they were soaked and cold. We stayed for a while, and when I saw that the water was gradually receding, I bravely returned to our house to check on its condition. The rain had also stopped, and the flood was gradually receding, so I called my nephew to bring the dogs back. My sister and my mother stayed behind and advised them to return at sunrise.

aso4.jpg

aso3.jpg

aso2.jpg

aso1.jpg

I am grateful to our God for not abandoning us and bringing us to safety. I was so grateful to our neighbors for allowing us to stay for a while despite the fact that they had also been flooded. In the morning, I ask that my sister and nephew bring back our mother to our household so that she can rest and sleep comfortably.

Unfortunately, our neighbor found out that their dog drowned while on a leash and did not survive. It was extremely depressing. As I mentioned earlier, my dogs are also a part of my family, so I made sure they were safe.

This experience will be remembered, and we must be a part of the solution to combat climate change. In our own little way, we can contribute to the healing of our planet by doing what is right and better for Mother Nature.

Sort:  

Thank goodness safe kayo at yung dogs mo frenny! Kakasad yung nangyare sa aso ng kapitbahay mo😔

True, frenny. If something were to happen to my dogs, I couldn't forgive myself. They were so dear to me. They belong to my family.

It is great to know Dhel that you are safe, despite of the flooding in your area. Sad to hear about your neighbor's dog. You are right, we must do something to help our planet Earth.

Thank you Met.

Glad you are safe. Sending prayers to you. I'm happy you didn't forget your furr friends behind.

Many thanks. No, I didn't forget about them. They are everything to me. I cherish them both.

that's lovely to know. take care and God bless you