A Student’s Struggle; Life After Odette

in #typhoonodette2 years ago

1.gif

What do you think is the biggest hurdle of a student?
Final Exams?
Papers?
Research?

Well, while some would pick either of the three, I would say that all of those things I have mentioned have become my biggest hurdle at the end of the year of 2021 and still is my hurdle this new year. What made it so bad would be the catastrophic and destructive events that happened because of Typhoon Odette that directly hit Cebu and other places in Visayas and Mindanao. So, what really happened, and how’s my life as a student aftermath?

IMG20211217113800.jpg

Life was not so great at that time of the close dates of Christmas. I had a lot on my plates already and backlogs were already drowning me. Right before one submission due that night of the 15th of December though, our school—University of the Philippines made an announcement which reveals to all students in the Cebu constituent that all of the classes were suspended starting December 16 for us to prepare for the danger and destruction that the typhoon will cause for that day. To be honest, I was relieved more than anyone because as a student, that means rest for me but at the same time, I knew something big was going to come. It was something like an intuition or a sixth sense perhaps, that is why when I heard about the news I told my family and relatives to prepare and do all necessary precautions to avoid casualties. That dawn of the 16th of December, I attended the 1st Mass for the Misa de Gallo in our place, and one prayer was ringing in my head and I utter numerous times: “Please keep my family safe and protect all of us from all danger.” Little did I know, how utterly filling would it be for me to pray that because Typhoon Odette really made a scene in my life, that will be forever embedded in my memory.

3.png

At around 4 pm, I was still going on about my assignments and paper as well as research, because of the stress that is causing me (out of the fear of what was going to happen), and some of my block mates and org mates in other places in the Visayas and Mindanao were already telling us in our group chats that the Typhoon was already causing a lot of casualties. An orgmate from Bohol also said that they were already forced to evacuate to specific areas in the city. At around 6 pm, it was already starting to get darker and the typhoon was clearly stronger than how people perceived it to be. It was indeed a Super Typhoon, one that would be causing fear and anxiety for all Cebuanos and Mindanaons.

IMG20211217113757.jpg

Rich or poor, elevated or non-elevated, cemented or concrete, whatever house it was, whatever building it was, the Typhoon ravaged every part there is of an establishment. A lot of our neighbor’s roofs were already flying off somewhere by 7:30 pm, and the trees were dancing almost kissing the soil. It was a night that I remember vividly. My mother was close to crying, and my sister, though she had her own house, went to our house to stay together with us amidst the danger. By 7:40 pm, the blackout came and candles were lit, flashlights were switched on. We didn’t know what we should do at that time. We were just sitting on our couch, we were all worried because my father and brother went somewhere and weren’t home at that time. We were trying to contact them but the signal was not so good. When we were able to reach them, that’s when everything went haywire, some of our neighbors were already screaming due to fear as a lot of trees near their homes were uprooted and some did fall in the roofs of their houses. Additional to that stress, my father and brother were trapped somewhere in the South Road Properties and were asking us to call for a rescue but all available landlines and phone numbers just told us to hold off and wait because they were also stranded somewhere. That was the time when I was so close to crying, and knowing what to do, I was constantly praying in my head for God to have mercy on all of us. All we could do at that time was to say to my father and brother to try to stay safe on their own because “help was not coming.”

IMG20211217172705.jpg

Recounting that seemingly unending night of the event, I really thought it would go on forever. But, I was still one of the lucky ones, because my family was safe and we were all blessed enough to not have acquired any injuries, especially my father and brother who were out there somewhere in the street while the Typhoon was wreaking havoc. Our house was not damaged but the small place of our “sari-sari” store (the business of my mom) was greatly damaged because a Mango Tree landed straight unto its roof causing almost all supplies and goods in the place to be wet. Beyond all of those things though was hope that everything was going to be okay.

IMG20211217113805.jpg

Days pass by, everyone was panicking and clearly stressed out. With no electricity, no water, and scarce drinking water, everyone was trying to survive on their own. There were times when we had to get water in the next City just to have one gallon of mineral water and the price was triple the normal price. Lines in getting gasoline for cars and motorcycles were very long which made it hard to travel around places looking for necessary goods. ATM machines also had long lines and some people collapsed while waiting on those lines. It was a nightmare for most of us, or I daresay it was a nightmare for all of us.

As a student though, the biggest struggle was the fact that even that time when the Typhoon made its landfall and was causing damages all around our place, deep inside I was still worried about my exams and outputs. With no clear signal and internet, I was close to crying because of the numerous outputs I needed to submit. I cannot contact my friends, block mates, and most especially professors to voice out my concern because aside from the near-gone signal, my phone had an empty battery. I know how inconsiderate schools are sometimes especially during college that’s why I was stressed out more than ever. I was already helping out in our house in acquiring water and other goods, plus there was that worry for my outputs. It was taking a toll on me that is why when I finally acquired a good signal and was able to recharge my battery, I immediately tried to contact our block representative in the Psychology department and asked for all necessary updates.

Copy of 6 (1).png

Rightfully so, the University suspended the classes and the deadlines were moved. The University was being good to all of us but it was still harder than I have expected. Some outputs were still hanging there with their same deadlines on the calendar, some professors moved it with just a few days allowance as if it would make the electricity suddenly come back in that short span of time. Some were kind enough to cancel some activities though and for that, I was most thankful for their understanding.

It was indeed a struggle. The silver lining of all of those events though was to be grateful for the little things that were still prevalent in our lives. May it be the roofs that were still in tacked after the typhoon, or the food and water that you are able to enjoy, or just the joy of knowing that everyone in your family, as well as relatives, were safe and sound. There were a lot of things we need to be grateful for amidst the destruction it made inside our lives. My family and I were grateful for everything and we were still able to celebrate Christmas and New Year with our little celebration. The biggest gift and blessing was still our bond and love for each other.

3A409F18-F6F5-45AA-8580-15D6F5CDDBE6.jpg

2 weeks after the typhoon, together with my sister @charisse.craves, we were determined to try to find someplace that offers free Wi-Fi and charging. Luckily, we were able to go to a coffee shop called “The Civet Coffee” in SM Seaside. The staffs were very welcoming and the drinks and food they served were all delicious. It was a place of joy for me, I was able to do a lot of things there because the internet was available and the ambiance was cozy and warm. It was hands down, one of my favorite coffee shops. I have gone back to the place a few times in a week to do my outputs and to also contact some of my friends about their situation. Two of my closest friends even decided to also go to Civet because I told them how nice it was.

It’s close to the end of January, and my first semester will end by February 11. I am closer to completing all of my tasks and outputs but there is still that anxiety and pressure. I plan to do my best and still strive for the best in everything that I do in school. In these uncertain and hard times, I know that it will bring joy in the hearts of my parents and family for me to have great grades this semester. I want to make them proud, that is always my goal.

I am a college student amidst the pandemic and aftermath of the Typhoon, and I continue to make the best out of life and do everything to make sure that I live life without regrets. I live life with the goal of making my loved ones proud of what I have become.

Copy of 6.gif


See you next time as I share more about my enjoyable and fun “cafe hopping” and always remember to live life with no regrets.

Yours Truly,
Just “KC”

6.gif

Sort:  

Such a traumatizing experience but thankfully we are slowly recovering from it day by day! Glad to see that you are safe and okay! Take care🤗🤗

Welcome po sa Hive. Ako po ay taga Batangas.

Congratulations @kyliveslife! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The pandemic and this Typhoon really brought a lot of stress to us students. Laban lang jod ta Kylene♥️

Huhu😢I'm with you on this one kc, grabe jud, the impact of Odette is💔💔💔

Glad to hear you're well, you and your fam.

Hope to see you sooonnn please kamo ni Cha🙏😢😘😘♥️