You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Delegated 10,000 SteemPower to @Steem-UA

in #ua6 years ago

I certainly applaud your contribution to this initiative @cryptoctopus, as well as your active participation in the community. I hope the @steem-ua folks manage to come up with a metric that more accurately reflects true authority/influence than reputation.

From what I have seen so far, my only reservation is that UA seems a little "thin" on valuing content creation and engagement on the site. I suppose you could argue that it doesn't have value... but there really wouldn't BE much here if people weren't starting and engaging in dialogue. Sure, people would still be developing apps for the Steem blockchain, but without the Steemit social front end... I am not sure Steem would be much more than "just another blockchain project" with its Discord and Github components. Steemit (and other social apps) is essentially what allows for that all-important marketing edge: Differentiation.

I hope perhaps @steem-ua will consider consulting with @paulag who's in the middle of developing a *contribution/engagement" metric.

But I'm totally with you in wanting to see an alternative influence metric develop!

Sort:  

We're now algorithmically curating content as:

UA_Vote = x * UA_Author + y * UA_Post + z * UA_Comment

... in order to include post interaction / engagement.
And @paulag is a friend of mine I talk to regularly, including this topic!

PS, you got yourself a primer on this, because I'm about to post about it this evening (but I have a lot on my plate to manage everything happening regarding UA, UA-API and @steem-ua)!

Cheers! ( @scipio )

Thanks for responding @scipio! I fundamentally think you a creating a really good thing here... and look forward to seeing it develop. I'm glad you're including different metrics to reflect participation.

I remember well the days of "Google watching" to try to figure out how to get our web sites to figure more prominently. And I understand that it's challenge. Metaphorically speaking, we all KNOW that "Sony Corporation" has authority in electronics, but what about the smaller guy who's every bit as expert but doesn't have a $100 million budget? Ranking for "value" will of course always be somewhat subjective...